Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Why do we need to install SQL for RD Services

Network Sharing , TCP/IP, Internet, Wireless, Exchange, IIS, ISA and Print

Why do we need to install SQL for RD Services

Postby chicagotech » Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:28 pm

SQL server is a must for RD Services high availability. We need this because the RDS Connection Broker service will try to migrate from WID (Windows Internal Database to a (high available) SQL Server instance when we convert the Broker to a high available broker.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6844
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Why do we need to install SQL for RD Services

Postby chicagotech » Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:31 pm

If you want to bring the High Availability to the whole solution, you must think in deploying SQL Always On Cluster.

If you are installing the SQL Always On remember to assign permissions at Security – Logins on both SQL Servers.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6844
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Why do we need to install SQL for RD Services

Postby chicagotech » Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:32 pm

I know, When you are configuring Broker HA you are moving single point of failure from broker to sql server and if that goes down no one will be able to connect. The whole HA solution will require SQL HA as well.

Problem here is that organizations will try to avoid high SQL costs and because of that they will use one sql server and implement good backup solution for example Veeam. With Veeam you can start SQL on replica server and on that way minimize downtime while you are restoring primary SQL. I have seen this.

If organization cannot afford downtime then sql HA is a must.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6844
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Why do we need to install SQL for RD Services

Postby chicagotech » Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:34 pm

The whole HA solution will require SQL HA as well. When you are configuring Broker HA you are moving single point of failure from broker to sql server and if that goes down no one will be able to connect.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6844
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Why do we need to install SQL for RD Services

Postby chicagotech » Tue Jun 20, 2017 2:29 pm

A Microsoft SQL Server with write permissions granted to all RD Connection Broker servers that will be part of the deployment
The Microsoft SQL Server Native Client is installed on all RD Connection Broker servers that will be part of the deployment
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6844
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA


Return to Networking

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 4 guests