Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

RAS Error 31 A device attached to system is not functioning

Network Sharing , TCP/IP, Internet, Wireless, Exchange, IIS, ISA and Print

RAS Error 31 A device attached to system is not functioning

Postby guest » Thu Jun 18, 2009 12:25 pm

I use mobile connection (02, USB modem Anydata ADU 635 WH) with supplied application Easdy Wireless Network 1.3.0.0.

Suddenly I couldn't dial ANY RAS connection (not even VPN) with error 31 (A device attached to the system is not functioning). Tried resetting winsock/IP, recreated all connections, re-installed drivers for all modems - nothing helped.

I also found utility "rarepair.exe" and gave it a chance although it was designed for XP/2003 - obviously didn't solve anything.

I presume that some RAS bindings became corrupted. Unfortunately I was under time pressure so I reinstalled Vista performing "upgrade" which solved the problem.

Is here anyone with similar problem or even solution? Or any advices what to check?

TIA

MP

Thank you for your post.

I am sorry for what you experienced. Your efforts on investigating this issue are highly appreciated.

Regarding the issue, I think it may be caused by several factors. At this time, I would like to share the following for your reference:

1. There were some virtual network devices (such as virtual network card which is installed with the Virtual PC or VMware, etc) conflict with the RAS process.

If you have this kind of devices which comes with these software, please try to disable it in the “Control Panel-Network connections” or remove the software to have a check.

2. The device driver of network device which you use to establish the RAS was corrupted or this device was not working properly.

If so, you can remove and reinstall or upgrade the device driver.

3. You can also refer to the following Knowledge Bases:

VPN connection fails on Windows Vista client: "Error 609: A device type was specfied that does not exit"

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/953795

When you establish a dial-up connection on a Windows Vista-based computer by using USB modem device, you cannot establish a new connection when after you resume the computer from standby

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/956502

Error message when you establish an outgoing remote access connection in Windows Server 2003: "Error 734 - The PPP link control protocol terminated" or "TCP/IP CP reported error 31: A device attached to the system is not functioning"

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/951013

Hope these will be helpful when you meet this issue in the future. If you need some help in the future, please feel free to post a new thread in a proper forum and we will do our best to help you.

Thanks.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Nicholas Li - MSFT

1) Yes, I DO use MS Virtual PC. As far as I remember I DID unbound VM netvork service from affected interface

2) I uninstalled completely all RAS connections and all used devices (even non-present ones)

3) I went thru all possibly related KB articles. Unfortunately most of them were XP/2003 and/or VPN related.

I gave up and re-installed Vista "over" (as in my case clean install would take more than one day)

MP
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 9593
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: RAS Error 31 A device attached to system is not functioning

Postby guest » Thu Jun 18, 2009 12:29 pm

Or try these suggestions: 1. try removing the IP stack and reloading it and go from there.
2. Roll back the NIC driver to old version.
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 9593
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: RAS Error 31 A device attached to system is not functioning

Postby guest » Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:41 am

1. You may want someone login the computer console, then you may be able to access it remotely.
2. If no one can help you,try to login different account and then reboot the remote computer.
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 9593
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm


Return to Networking

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests