Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Problem caused program to stop working correctly

RRAS, VPN, TS/RDP, Routing and remote Access.

Problem caused program to stop working correctly

Postby chicagotech » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:03 pm

Situation: the client tries to access Windows 2008 R2 using RDP. He is able to connect to the remote systems and access the environment for a short period prior to MSTSC.EXE crashing. "A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available."

Eventlog has the following:

Log Name: Application
Source: Application Error
Date: 3/25/2015 2:50:21 PM
Event ID: 1000
Task Category: (100)
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A

Description:
Faulting application name: mstsc.exe, version: 10.0.10041.0, time stamp: 0x5503b1a7
Faulting module name: mstscax.dll, version: 10.0.10041.0, time stamp: 0x5503b315
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000000000046d78c
Faulting process id: 0x2164
Faulting application start time: 0x01d06734abf028a0
Faulting application path: C:\WINDOWS\system32\mstsc.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\system32\mstscax.dll
Report Id: 2b084e37-d328-11e4-ab40-7c7a9191e005
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

Resolution: According to the error message, this problem caused by mstscax.dll which is Windows Remote Desktop Client relevant file. To fix this problem, you can try to use the command below to register this Dll file again for test.

Open CMD with administrator, Type the command below and press enter:

regsvr32 %systemroot%\system32\mstscax.dll

After that, restart your computer to test this problem.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7094
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Problem caused program to stop working correctly

Postby chicagotech » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:08 pm

Or try this:

Run the system file checker tool.

Check the article http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929833 “How to use the System File Checker tool to troubleshoot missing or corrupted system files on Windows Vista or on Windows 7”
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7094
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Problem caused program to stop working correctly

Postby chicagotech » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:14 pm

Allow Remote Desktop Via Windows Firewall. Especially, if the network is setup using public connection, make sure the Remote Desktop is allowed in Public firewall settings.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7094
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Problem caused program to stop working correctly

Postby chicagotech » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:15 pm

Check all Dependency Services named Remote Access or Remote Desktop services are automatic or Manual, none of them is Disabled.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7094
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Problem caused program to stop working correctly

Postby chicagotech » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:19 pm

Disable remote mapping or audio playback settings. In our case, When I clicked in the Remote audio playback settings I noticed Play on this computer was selected. Check Do bot play fix the problem. That fixed it!
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7094
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Problem caused program to stop working correctly

Postby chicagotech » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:23 pm

if you repeatedly connect to the same computers that have the same desktop setups, the terminal service client will save a cached copy locally on your system so you don’t have to keep downloading it from the remote computer.

It’s located here:
%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Terminal Server Client\Cache

You could rename the .bmc files to .bmc.old and then retry your terminal services connection efforts.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7094
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Problem caused program to stop working correctly

Postby chicagotech » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:27 pm

none of above solution worked for me,
i found my answer when i disable AutoLogin for last user in Windows 10, OR 8, 8.1 remote desktop will closed on showing credential,

just restore registry value and problem solved
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows
\CurrentVersion\Authentication\LogonUI\UserSwitch

Enable = 0
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7094
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Problem caused program to stop working correctly

Postby chicagotech » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:28 pm

I believe the key to solving this issue specific to each case is looking in the event viewer. Look at not just the "Faulting application name" but also the "Faulting module name." For me the faulting module was "dlxcrjdm.dll" which is an old Dell Printer Driver dll that I am guessing isn't compatible with Windows 10 (which I just upgraded to). Anyway, after uninstalling the Dell printer, my problem was resolved. This type of approach may also solve the issue for those looking to use printers or audio as a local resource in the remote environment.
To run event viewer, just hit the Start button and start typing in "Event Viewer." You should be able to see in the "Summary of Administrative Events" any Errors (under "Event Type") in the last hour and then find the one related to your issue. After you do find the "Faulting module name", I suggest googling it to find out what it is and go from there.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7094
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Problem caused program to stop working correctly

Postby chicagotech » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:28 pm

%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Terminal Server Client\Cache\bcache64.bmc did the trick. It took me 3 weeks to use the correct search keywords in google to find that easy solution on your site.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7094
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Problem caused program to stop working correctly

Postby chicagotech » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:29 pm

Yay! Deleting that .bmc file in %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Terminal Server Client\Cache\ didn't work but deleting the other 3 Cache files in that dir fixed the crash for me that just randomly started happening today.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7094
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Problem caused program to stop working correctly

Postby chicagotech » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:29 pm

I turned remote audio playback to 'do not play' and I also disabled 'Printers' under local devices and resources. No more disconnecting now!
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7094
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Problem caused program to stop working correctly

Postby chicagotech » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:30 pm

This post pointed me in right direction.
Found out user was using old printer driver that was responsible for crashing RDP connection.
Win7 driver working on Win10 - compatible but not best solution!
After upgrading the driver, printer share was back to normal.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7094
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Problem caused program to stop working correctly

Postby chicagotech » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:31 pm

In the Windows Application event log I found it was a newly installed HP printer on the network causing my RemoteApp RDP session to crash within seconds of starting. I disable Printers as a shared resource.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7094
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Problem caused program to stop working correctly

Postby chicagotech » Mon Nov 27, 2017 4:38 pm

In our case, the client is running Windows 2008 R2 RD services. Their RDP client version is RDC 10.0.16299.15 (the latest build 2017.10.13). This version is not supported on Windows 2008 R2.

Option 1.
Disabling Printer redirect on RDP connection resolved the crashing. Crashing was taking place on a Windows 10 PC using the native Desktop RDC.

Option 2.
Download the Microsoft Remote Desktop app from Windows 10 store.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7094
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA


Return to VPN, TS and Remote Access

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests