Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Copy and paste in Windows remote Desktop doesn’t work

RRAS, VPN, TS/RDP, Routing and remote Access.

Copy and paste in Windows remote Desktop doesn’t work

Postby guest » Sun Oct 28, 2012 4:44 pm

I have Windows 8 Pro running on my laptop. I have enabled clipboard on Remote Desktop on Windows 8 and I can map host (windows 8) computer drive in remote computer (running on Windows 7). But I can’t copy simple text from Notepad from Windows 7 to Windows 8 when using RDP. Why?
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: Copy and paste in Windows remote Desktop doesn’t work

Postby guest » Sun Oct 28, 2012 4:44 pm

From your description, I understand that you cannot copy the simple text from Notepad from Windows 7 to Windows 8 when using RDP. If there is any misunderstanding, please feel free to let me know.

Based on our issue, I have tested on my machines and find all work fine. Before moving forward, I would appreciate your efforts on clarifying the following questions:
1. Can you copy/paste successfully on both the Windows 7 and Windows 8 locally?
2. Do you mean that both methods of copy/paste do not work? ctrl+c and ctrl+v, choose the text and right-click the mouse, then choose the copy/paste
3. Is there any error when you fail to copy/paste? If there is, please take the screen shot on the entire error message and upload here.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1) When the error is received, please press the Print Screen key (PrtScn) on your keyboard.
2) Click "Start", click "Run", type "mspaint", and click "OK".
3) In Paint, click Paste under the Edit Menu, click Save under the File menu, type a file name for the screenshot, choose JPEG as "Save as type", click "Desktop" on the left pane, and click Save.
4) Please find the screenshot on the Desktop, please name the file and upload to the workspace.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In order to use the copy/paste successfully in the remote connection to Windows 8, please check the following things:
1. On the Windows 8 machine, run the command "gpedit.msc" and navigate to Computer Configuration\Administrative Templates\Windows Components\Remote Desktop Services\Remote Desktop Session Host\Device and Resource Redirection
2. Disable the policy "Do not allow clipboard redirection" and run the command "gpupdate /force"
3. On the Windows 7 remote computer, open the Remote Desktop Connection and select Clipboard checkbox under the Local Resources.

This issue is also probably caused by the rdpclip.exe going out of sync in the RDP sharing chain. If this is the reason for the copy paste not to work, the quick solution is to restart the rdpclip.exe program in the remote computer.
Here are the steps:
1. Login to remote computer using Remote Desktop (RDP)
2. Open Task Manager in the remote machine
3. Click the "Process" tab
4. Locate a program called "rdpclip.exe"
5. Right click and select "End process" to kill this program
6. Click on "File" menu in the task manager and select "New Task (Run)"
7. Type rdpclip.exe and press the button to start the process.

Here is some information for your reference:

Cutting and pasting to and from remote sessions
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/libr ... 91(v=ws.10).aspx

I hope the information will be useful to you.
If there is any update or something unclear, please feel free to let me know.


Best Regards,
Joy Fang
Partner Online Technical Community
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: Copy and paste in Windows remote Desktop doesn’t work

Postby guest » Sun Oct 28, 2012 4:45 pm

I did more tests and found only one computer has this issue. After rebooting it, I can copy and paste between host and client.
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm


Return to VPN, TS and Remote Access

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests