Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Cannot remote control users sessions using Terminal Services

RRAS, VPN, TS/RDP, Routing and remote Access.

Cannot remote control users sessions using Terminal Services

Postby guest » Wed Dec 05, 2012 10:02 am

I have recently put Terminal Services on one of our Windows 2003 x64 Standard servers, before installed could remote control another admin no problem.

When I now go to remote control a user, I get Session (ID#) remote control failed.

(Error 7054 - The system has reached its licensed logon limit. Please try again later.)

Run LSView and confirms that it can see the licensing server.

Anyone got any ideas, doesn't make any sense?

Many Thanks
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: Cannot remote control users sessions using Terminal Services

Postby guest » Wed Dec 05, 2012 10:02 am

Did you enable Remote Desktop or actually instaled the Terminal Services role? Normally you will get another message when licensing in the issue. It looks like your server is still running in Remote Administration mode which allows a maximum of 2 remote connections.
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: Cannot remote control users sessions using Terminal Services

Postby guest » Wed Dec 05, 2012 10:02 am

Installed Terminal Services, not running in remote admin mode as we are getting more than 2 remote connections on the server.
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: Cannot remote control users sessions using Terminal Services

Postby guest » Wed Dec 05, 2012 10:03 am

I'm running into the same problem except this is on a Windows 2003 Enterprise Edition R2. Before this, the server was a Standard Edition w/o R2 and I could remote control without problems. The hard drive was getting old and I rebuilt the whole server using Enterprise Edition R2. I called it the same name using the same IP and hardware and re-added it back to the domain. Only thing changed was a much larger capacity hard drive. The license server is on a domain controller and terminal services licensing does not seem to be the problem. Sessions are logging on fine except the ones which used to work from Mac Remote Desktop don't work anymore. I installed CoRD on the Macs instead and that worked. It looks like the server thinks it is in Remote Administration mode when the Terminal Services Manager tries to remote control sessions even though it is installed as a Terminal Server. The error seems similar to what you get when you have too many sessions in Remote Administration mode. The License Logging Server is not on and it is disabled. Any help would be much appreciated.

If anyone can answer this question, it might help. Is your server's licensing mode per device per user or is it per server mode for the terminal servers that are able to remote control fine? Because it only allows a one-time change from per server to per device per user, I have to find out before I pull the trigger to try that. Thanks.

I had the same problem with a Windows 2003 Enterprise R2 server. I uninstalled Terminal Services, rebooted, the reinstalled and rebooted it from Add/Remove Windows Components and it seems to have cleared the issue up.
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: Cannot remote control users sessions using Terminal Services

Postby guest » Wed Dec 05, 2012 10:16 am

1. This could be server CALs issue. For a test, simply stop or disable the License Logging Service.
2. Did you remove the server from your domain, then add it back? Otherwise, an old DNS entry for your server might be out there, and your Active Directory might be denying the server access because it doesn't recognize it after the IP change.
3. Is the time correct on the License server?
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm


Return to VPN, TS and Remote Access

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests