Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Can't connect to remote computer because Gateway unavailable

RRAS, VPN, TS/RDP, Routing and remote Access.

Can't connect to remote computer because Gateway unavailable

Postby chicagotech » Fri Sep 01, 2017 3:03 pm

Q: I ma configuring RD services in my lab. All servers are 2012 R2 and I use RD Quick Session Collection. When I test it by using RDP, I get this message: This computer can't connect to the remote computer because the Terminal Services Gateway server is temporarily unavailable.

I followed these articles:
This computer can't connect to the remote computer because the RD ...
http://www.chicagotech.net/remoteissues/remoteapp3.htm

Can't connect to computer because TS Gateway is unavailable ...
http://chicagotech.net/netforums/viewto ... =2&t=17113

Remote Desktop Gateway is temporarily unavailable
http://chicagotech.net/netforums/viewto ... =2&t=17493

But can't fix it.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Can't connect to remote computer because Gateway unavailable

Postby chicagotech » Fri Sep 01, 2017 3:03 pm

This happens because when you try to connect to the farm, the Gateway tries to connect to the DNS and resolve the farm name. But as there is no resource like that, you get the error. So, in order to access the farm as well, you need to add the name of the farm in the RD RAP policies, so that it checks that as a network resource and thus, does not need to resolve the name with the DNS. To do this, follow these simple steps:

1. Right-Click on Resource Authorization Policies and select Manage Local Computer Groups.

2. Select Create Group.

3. Enter the farm name and each individual servers in the farm and click on Add. Then click on OK.

Once these steps are done and you try to connect to the farm name directly, the RD Gateway will come to know that the farm name is a network resource and thus, not give you the error, but actually connect you to the farm.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Can't connect to remote computer because Gateway unavailable

Postby chicagotech » Fri Sep 01, 2017 3:06 pm

I found: RemoteApp Manager > RD Host Session Server Setting (click Change) > RD Gateway tab and ticked Automatically detect RD Gateway Server Settings. Then I restarted the Remote Desktop Gateway service and what do you know...DAMN THING ACTUALLY WORKED!!!
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Can't connect to remote computer because Gateway unavailable

Postby chicagotech » Fri Sep 01, 2017 3:07 pm

Your main issue here is that externally not able to access - correct?

1-) I think you might want to try putting it on your DMZ just for test.

2-) Assuming that you have done the routing on your firewall?

3-) Assuming you have mapped to external IP (NATing) and published the URL externally?

4-) Check the port the RDP WebAccess connecting on - you need to open that port on your firewall.

5-) Assuming you have configured HTTPS traffic for this site with port?
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Can't connect to remote computer because Gateway unavailable

Postby chicagotech » Fri Sep 01, 2017 3:07 pm

It was a problem with the certificate and where I was creating it from. I was creating a self-signed cert from IIS. in order to specify my external domain I had to create the self signed certificate through the RD gateway manager. After I did this BOOM everything was working.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Can't connect to remote computer because Gateway unavailable

Postby chicagotech » Fri Sep 01, 2017 3:13 pm

If the RD service is on Azure VM, please check this article:

Cannot connect with RDP to a Windows VM in Azure | Microsoft Docs
Jul 25, 2017 ... ... VPN GatewayEstablish secure, cross-premises connectivity · Azure .... Troubleshoot Remote Desktop connections to an Azure virtual .... The remote session was disconnected because there are no Remote Desktop License Servers available to ... This computer can't connect to the remote computer.
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/.../tr ... connection
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Can't connect to remote computer because Gateway unavailable

Postby chicagotech » Fri Sep 01, 2017 3:13 pm

After reading much documentation found out what I had done wrong. I had broken everything by manually adding the new Cert to IIS myself on the RDWeb server. No idea why this broke everything.

The correct method apparently is to just add the Certificate to the Deployment Configuration via Server Manager (to each of RDWeb, Gateway, Broker etc) and this auto-populates IIS with the new Certificate.

Once done this way, all ways fine.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Can't connect to remote computer because Gateway unavailable

Postby chicagotech » Fri Sep 01, 2017 3:15 pm

If it is Amazon EC2 Windows server, please refer to this article:

Troubleshoot Remote Desktop Connection to EC2 Windows
Jan 5, 2017 ... For more information, see Remote Desktop can't connect to the remote computer. Note: If you continue to experience connectivity issues to your ...
https://aws.amazon.com/.../troubleshoot ... ction-ec2- windows/
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA


Return to VPN, TS and Remote Access

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests