Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Cisco ASDM hangs

Cisco Router, Firewall, VPN, SDM, ASA and Switch

Cisco ASDM hangs

Postby blin » Tue Jun 24, 2014 11:11 pm

Situation: When install Cisco ASDM to access Cisco ASA, ASDM hangs.

Possible resolutions: 1. Verify whether or not the Java version is compatible. Then upgrade/downgrade the Java version accordingly and install the JRE.

2. Using a 64-bit Java Version on Windows causes ASDM Launcher to Fail and the Launcher does not Run

When you use a 64-bit Java version on Windows, it causes the ASDM Launcher to fail and the launcher does not run.

Solution

This issue is documented in Cisco bug ID CSCtb86774 (registered customers only) .

The workaround is to run the ASDM using the web browser.
How to Configure and Troubleshoot Cisco
http://www.howtocisco.com

Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com
blin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3618
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Chicago, USA

Re: Cisco ASDM hangs

Postby blin » Tue Jun 24, 2014 11:15 pm

you were right on the money with the Java version. Mine was at 11 so I removed the update back to version 6 and it works fine now...
How to Configure and Troubleshoot Cisco
http://www.howtocisco.com

Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com
blin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3618
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Chicago, USA

Re: Cisco ASDM hangs

Postby blin » Tue Jun 24, 2014 11:17 pm

It is an issue with not only the update version but 32bit vs 64bit. It appears the ASDM does not work with 64bit java, so you must download and install a 32bit version. As well you will have to download Version 6 update 7 (nothing later). Some have reported that update 10 works, but most have had success with version 7.

I currently have ASDM installed and working, I have the 32bit and 64bit version of 6 update 7 installed. You must uninstall any newer versions first, then download and install the 32bit version.

I uninstalled mine, then installed the 64bit version (6 Update 7) and it still didn't work, I then downloaded and installed 32bit version (6 Update 7) without uninstalling the 64bit version and everything appears to work fine.
How to Configure and Troubleshoot Cisco
http://www.howtocisco.com

Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com
blin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3618
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Chicago, USA

Re: Cisco ASDM hangs

Postby blin » Tue Jun 24, 2014 11:17 pm

ASDM is 32-bit so it needs the 32-bit JRE - not 64-bit. This is current as of v6.3(1).
How to Configure and Troubleshoot Cisco
http://www.howtocisco.com

Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com
blin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3618
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Chicago, USA


Return to Cisco

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests