Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Remote Desktop Connection has stopped working Error

RRAS, VPN, TS/RDP, Routing and remote Access.

Remote Desktop Connection has stopped working Error

Postby guest » Wed Sep 26, 2012 6:42 pm

I just upgraded from XP Pro to Vista Business and I can no longer
establish a remote desktop connection to my office XP Pro computer.
After I click on the new VPN shortcut I get a successful VPN connection.
Then when I click on the modified RDP file I get a log on prompt.

At that point when I enter by password I get the following error:

Remote Desktop Connection has stopped working

followed by a dialog with buttons for Debug and Cancel.

When I check the application event log I find the following errors:

Event 1000 Source Application Error

Faulting application mstsc.exe, version 6.0.6000.16386, time stamp
0x4549b425, faulting module ntdll.dll, version 6.0.6000.16386, time
stamp 0x4549bdc9, exception code 0xc0000374, fault offset 0x000af1c9,
process id 0xb98, application start time 0x01c74b397201ad17

Event 1001 Source Windows Error Reporting

Fault bucket 351824205, type 1
Event Name: APPCRASH
Response: None
Cab Id: 326419206

I notice that if I do not enter a password and instead minimize the the
connection window the normal timeout occurs causing the window to close
with no error.
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: Remote Desktop Connection has stopped working Error

Postby guest » Wed Sep 26, 2012 6:43 pm

I would re-install remote desktop.

Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: Remote Desktop Connection has stopped working Error

Postby guest » Wed Sep 26, 2012 6:44 pm

Just writing to update. I opened a ticket with Microsoft. They wanted
me to install the new RDP client on the XP Pro host which did not help.
I thought the tech was confused and attempting to troubleshoot
connectivity from XP Pro to Vista Business. After some clarification
the tech suggested I disable UAC.

After I e-mailed the tech to report that disabling UAC did not help I
decided to do some testing. I found that if I boot with the Safe Mode
With Networking choice I can establish an RDP connection with no errors
using the public host name of our SBS 2003 server (my VPN connection was
no where to be found in this boot).

While I wait to hear from Microsoft on this latest development I will be
checking to see if I can find any third party software
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: Remote Desktop Connection has stopped working Error

Postby guest » Wed Sep 26, 2012 6:44 pm

Another update. When I changed the Remote computer sound drop down from
Bring to this computer to Do not play while not in Safe Mode With
Networking I connected with no error. Looks the I will need to wait for
updated audio drivers.
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: Remote Desktop Connection has stopped working Error

Postby blin » Mon Mar 21, 2016 11:37 am

Basically, if you repeatedly connect to the same computers that have the same desktop setups, the terminal service client will save a cached copy locally on your system so you don’t have to keep downloading it from the remote computer.

It’s located here:
%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Terminal Server Client\Cache

You could rename the .bmc files to .bmc.old and then retry your terminal services connection efforts.
How to Configure and Troubleshoot Cisco
http://www.howtocisco.com

Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com
blin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3609
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Chicago, USA

Re: Remote Desktop Connection has stopped working Error

Postby blin » Mon Mar 21, 2016 11:37 am

i found my answer when i disable AutoLogin for last user in Windows 10, OR 8, 8.1 remote desktop will closed on showing credential,

just restore registry value and problem solved
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows
\CurrentVersion\Authentication\LogonUI\UserSwitch

Enable = 0
How to Configure and Troubleshoot Cisco
http://www.howtocisco.com

Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com
blin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3609
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Chicago, USA

Re: Remote Desktop Connection has stopped working Error

Postby blin » Mon Mar 21, 2016 11:38 am

I had the same issue and none of the above fixes helped so I simply created a new user and that fixed my problem.
How to Configure and Troubleshoot Cisco
http://www.howtocisco.com

Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com
blin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3609
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Chicago, USA

Re: Remote Desktop Connection has stopped working Error

Postby blin » Mon Mar 21, 2016 11:38 am

I believe the key to solving this issue specific to each case is looking in the event viewer. Look at not just the "Faulting application name" but also the "Faulting module name." For me the faulting module was "dlxcrjdm.dll" which is an old Dell Printer Driver dll that I am guessing isn't compatible with Windows 10 (which I just upgraded to). Anyway, after uninstalling the Dell printer, my problem was resolved. This type of approach may also solve the issue for those looking to use printers or audio as a local resource in the remote environment.
To run event viewer, just hit the Start button and start typing in "Event Viewer." You should be able to see in the "Summary of Administrative Events" any Errors (under "Event Type") in the last hour and then find the one related to your issue. After you do find the "Faulting module name", I suggest googling it to find out what it is and go from there.
How to Configure and Troubleshoot Cisco
http://www.howtocisco.com

Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com
blin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3609
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Chicago, USA


Return to VPN, TS and Remote Access

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests