Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

How to disable TCP/IPv6

Network Sharing , TCP/IP, Internet, Wireless, Exchange, IIS, ISA and Print

How to disable TCP/IPv6

Postby chicagotech » Fri Aug 10, 2007 7:33 am

Navigate Start>Network>Network and Sharing Center>Manage Network Connections. Open the properties of the connection. Uncheck TCP/IPv6.

Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
"Cilia" <Cilia> wrote in message news:A8D29976-D5F5-4877-9FA4-328AC3CD22E3@microsoft.com...
Hi,

Yesterday I installed Vista and now I have problems connecting to the
internet with my LAN connection. I called the provider and everything is ok
with my modem etc. They say the problem is with Vista/ microsoft. Can you
please help out?
Sometimes when I click on restore the problem this works ( reconnect the
LAN/find LAN), other times it doesn't. I have no fixed IP adress. Is the
problem with the IPv6?? If so what can I do about it. I do not dare to shut
down the computer, cause than I may loose connection again.
Thanks for your reply!!

Kind regards,
Cilia
Netherlands
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7064
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Sat Aug 11, 2007 11:38 am

Yes, add a router is good idea. It is not only for fixing this issue, but also for the security. However, make sure the router is Vista compitable since we have seen many cases like this.

Vista TCP/IP IssuesVista: DHCP Fails. Related Topics. Vista Issues · Troubleshooting Vista Network Issues · Troubleshooting Vista Remote Access Issues ...
http://www.chicagotech.net/vista/vistaipissues.htm


Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
"Cilia" <Cilia> wrote in message news:0F73B32B-47CE-4C6A-99C3-A010E5D508A4@microsoft.com...
Hi Robert,

Thanks for your reply. I already tried this, but this does not help. I am on
line now and when I am, everything is ok. However when I restart I loose
connection again. The pc has a hard time finding the network of the provider
I use. They do not use the ipv 6 protocol. My friend suggests to put a router
on. Would this help?? Does the router find the connection then instead of
vista?
Any other suggestions are more then welcome.
Thanks again for your hel Robert.
Regards,
Cilia
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7064
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Sun Oct 05, 2008 7:59 am

> Hi everybody!
>
> How can I remove the IPv6-support for an interface, so it is the same as
> if I would uncheck it in the properties of the interface?
> I tried to remove the interface netsh - int - ipv6 - del interface, but
> netsh just responded with 'catastrophic failure'...
>
> Thanks in advance!
> Greetings, Jose

Hi,

you can't uninstall the IPv6 but it can be disabled. Here the procedure:

How to disable certain Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) components in
Windows Vista
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929852

Edine
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7064
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA


Return to Networking

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests