Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

How to configure a new Cisco 1242 wireless AP

Cisco Router, Firewall, VPN, SDM, ASA and Switch

How to configure a new Cisco 1242 wireless AP

Postby chicagotech » Thu Sep 13, 2007 2:28 pm

1. Connect to the console port to a laptop.
2. Login the AP and the default password is Cisco.
3. Confiure IP, subnet and default gateway using lwapp command lines. For example,

1) Run privileged EXEC mode and then the following commands.
2) configure terminal
3 interface bvi1
4) ip address 10.0.30.23 255.255.0.0
5) ip default-gateway 10.0.0.2
6) end
7) hostname chicagotech
8) copy running-config startup-config

4. To show the configuration, use "show lwapp ip config"
5. After you gor the IP for the AP, you configure AP uing an Internet Broswer, for example http://10.0.1.25. The default password is Cisco.
6. From the Summary Status screen, click Setup>Express Setup to configure the AP.
Last edited by chicagotech on Tue Feb 17, 2009 12:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby guest » Tue Feb 17, 2009 11:50 am

This what I do:

1. Open DHCP server.
2. Navigate to Address leases.
3. From the Name, you may see the Cisco AP A record, for example, ap.chicagotech.net. Or you can check the Lease expire that may give you a tip.
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Postby guest » Tue Feb 17, 2009 11:55 am

Or connect to the AP console port and run show ip interface brief, for example:

ap>sh ip interface brief
Interface IP-Address OK? Method Status Protocol
BVI1 10.0.1.25 YES DHCP up up
Dot11Radio0 unassigned YES unset administratively down down
FastEthernet0 unassigned YES other up up
ap>
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Postby guest » Tue Feb 17, 2009 12:44 pm

This is what we do.

1. Always save a configuration backup.
2. Whenever we add a new AP, we modify the hostname and ip address.
3. After we get the new AP IP address, we access it using IE to download the configuration.
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm


Return to Cisco

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest