Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Can't access sharing because of Norton

Network Sharing , TCP/IP, Internet, Wireless, Exchange, IIS, ISA and Print

Can't access sharing because of Norton

Postby chicagotech » Fri Sep 21, 2007 8:44 pm

Thank you for the update and the tip.

Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com

Thanks for that. It helped me figure out that it was Norton Internet Security
that was the problem.
For some reason, if you set up file sharing before installing Norton, it
assumes the network is trusted.
If you allow sharing after installing Norton, you have to manually trust the
network.

Alex

"Robert L [MVP - Networking]" wrote:

> I would check the firewall or permission first.
>
> troubleshooting is not accessible errorTroubleshooting "... is not accessible" error step by step. When try to access a remote computer, you may receive the following error messages: ...
> www.howtonetworking.com/Troubleshooting ... ibale0.htm
>
>
> Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
> Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
> How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com

> Hi all
>
> I have 3 computers, all Dell; a laptop on XP Pro with SP2, a desktop on XP
> Pro with SP2 and a server on Server 2003.
>
> I had all three shared and working, but I re-installed Windows on my
> desktop, and I can no longer connect to the shared folders on this computer.
> I can see it in the workgroup, but when I click on it, I get the following
> message:
>
> \\Alex-desktop is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this
> network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you
> have access permissions. The network path was not found.
>
> However, I can still connect using Remote Desktop.
>
> I can still see the shared folders between the desktop and the server in
> both directions.
>
> The one other thing I have noticed is this:
> I have a Netgear router, which shows the attached computers. The desktop
> name used to appear in the list (Alex-desktop), but now it shows as Unknown.
> Not sure if that helps or not.
>
> Any help would be appreciated
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6990
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Sat Dec 15, 2007 6:26 pm

can you ping the XP by IP? If yes, what do you receive if using net view \\xpipaddress?

--
Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com


"PA" <PA> wrote in message news:95BE0EE9-8724-4817-8273-CDAB7BC6180E@microsoft.com...
> So it turned out that I had Norton Firewall still running on the Vista
> machine. I'm able to access the Vista from the XP laptop if I disable the
> firewall. I'm still however not able to access the XP machine from Vista
> regardless of the firewall settings.
>
> "PA" wrote:
>
>> Hello,
>>
>> I've read through the newsgroup and the various links posted and am still
>> having connectivity problems. I am trying to connect a laptop running XP
>> Home with a desktop running Vista Home Premium. Both machines can get onto
>> the Internet via the same wireless router. Currently, in my Network Places
>> on the XP machine, I can see the Vista machine but when I click on it, it
>> says //computername is not accessible. On the Vista PC, I can view the XP
>> machine within the Network Map, but am not able to click on it. It also does
>> not show up under the "View Computers & Devices" link. Based on others'
>> problems here, I've tried the following:
>>
>> On the XP machine:
>> - disabled the Windows firewall on the XP, no other firewall running
>> - ran the network wizard and saved the setup files to a thumb drive and
>> installed on the Vista
>> - enabled File & Printer sharing, and shared a folder
>>
>> On the Vista machine:
>> - made the network private, changed the workgroup to WORKGROUP, to match the
>> XP machine
>> - turned off Password protected sharing, turned everything else on
>>
>> Thanks in advance for your help!
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6990
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:10 am

Thanks for the clue. When you said permissions I checked the Norton
AntiVirus software that came with the machine and discovered that the
firewall was on. This is ok but it was essentially blocking everything. I
turned it off and the file shares work. Now I just need to go back and set
up the firewall correctly!
--
Ray


"Robert L. (MS-MVP)" wrote:

> Make sure you have assigned permissions in the Security tab on both 2000 and
> XP. This search result may help.
>
> Vista Permission IssuesCan I assume the external drive used to be
> connecting to other computer and you just re-connect it the the Vista? Check
> the permission using this command: . ...
> www.chicagotech.net/vista/vistapermission.htm
>
>
> --
> Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
> Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on
> http://www.ChicagoTech.net
> How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on
> http://www.HowToNetworking.com
>
>
> "RayH" <RayH> wrote in message
> news:3DDF021A-BA6E-4D67-B0A0-CDF7BAACC9DD@microsoft.com...
> > Just starting out with a new machine with Vista. I have two other
> > machines
> > XP and 2000 and file sharing works fine. I can see the new Vista machine
> > listed under micrsoft windows network on the 2000 machine and XP machine.
> > If
> > I double click it on 2000 machine I get the "computer is not accessible,
> > network path was not found". If I double click it on the XP machine I get
> > "computer is not accessible, you might not have permission to use this
> > network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if
> > yo
> > have access permissions. The network path was not found". From the Vista
> > machine no other computers on the network show up when I go to the Network
> > view. I have one folder shared on the new Vista machine so I should be
> > able
> > to see something from it on the other machines. It is shared with
> > Everyone;Administrators. I also have files shared on the XP and 2000
> > machines and like I said, between them the file sharing works fine.
> > I have read through most of these postings and believe I have checked
> > everthing but obviously I am missing something. I have been at this for
> > a
> > couple of days and getting a little frustrated.
> > Any help or tips would be appreciated!
> > --
> > Ray
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6990
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Sun Feb 03, 2008 9:17 pm

Ok Robert that worked. I found that the XP pc was definitely running Norton
Personal Firewall, added the internal IP range and now can ping the desktop
from the vista laptop. Great. I have set all the various settings for
network and sharing on vista laptop and everything is good. However, when I
try to browse for the printer shared out on the xp machine, I cannot see the
XP pc come up or the printer. I have shared the printer out on XP so don't
know why i don't see it.. Do i need to go through a network setup e.t.c. on
the XP pc now as well? Thanks

"Robert L. (MS-MVP)" wrote:

> It seesm to me a security software blocks the ping. To find out it is
> windows firewall or 3rd party software, try to start the computer with clean
> boot.
>
> windows faqsHow to run Windows OS with a clean boot How to stop the
> Messenger Service ads How to tell who is logged on at a remote computer ...
> www.howtonetworking.com/winfaqs.htm
>
>
> --
> Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
> Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on
> http://www.ChicagoTech.net
> How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on
> http://www.HowToNetworking.com
>
> > Thanks Robert. I'll try this as well as some other tips i found on the
> > site.
> > This site is a godsend. Also, i'll give you feedback on what i find out.
> >
> > "Robert L. (MS-MVP)" wrote:
> >
> >> If you restart the safe mode with network on the XP, can you ping it?
> >>
> >> --
> >> Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
> >> Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on
> >> http://www.ChicagoTech.net
> >> How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on
> >> http://www.HowToNetworking.com
> >>
> >>
> >> "mugentuner" <mugentuner> wrote in message
> >> news:0ACC8872-37F4-4949-A7FD-1507CC3F3A1E@microsoft.com...
> >> >I cannot ping my xp desktop from my Vista laptop when doing basic
> >> > connectivity checks. I have shared out my printer attached to the Xp
> >> > desktop
> >> > running home edition and want to print on the Vista laptop running home
> >> > premium. They are both on the same workgroup. I can even ping the
> >> > Vista
> >> > Laptop from XP pc, but cannot ping the XP pc from the Vista laptop. I
> >> > even
> >> > disabled all windows firewall, Norton on the xp pc as well as mcafee on
> >> > the
> >> > vista to no avail. I think that by the laptop not seeing the Xp pc, it
> >> > is
> >> > impossible to see the shared printer from XP on the Vista laptop. How
> >> > can
> >> > I
> >> > get Vista to make the connection and see the XP pc? Thanks
> >>
> >>
>
>
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6990
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Can't access sharing because of Norton

Postby judithara » Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:11 am

How do i remove/uninstall Norton security scan from computer? Norton security scan installs with the new Java Installation. You don't have to install it, but you may have accidentally done so.
___________________
market samurai ~ marketsamurai ~ marketsamurai.com
Last edited by judithara on Fri Nov 06, 2009 12:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
judithara
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:25 am

Re: Can't access sharing because of Norton

Postby blin » Fri Oct 30, 2009 7:38 am

This post may help.

Fixed unidentified network using static IP4 posts - 2 authors - Last post: Jul 11
finally worked for me was to remove Norton 360 using the Norton Removal Tool > (http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/N ... 26173.html). ...
www.chicagotech.net/netforums/viewtopic.php?t=1723
How to Configure and Troubleshoot Cisco
http://www.howtocisco.com

Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com
blin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3641
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Chicago, USA


Return to Networking

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests