Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Move phpbb from one domain to another domain

This forum is for ChicagoTech Clients only

Move phpbb from one domain to another domain

Postby guest » Sat Jan 20, 2007 3:29 pm

Bob,

You help us to install phpbb forum. How do you move the phpbb database from our current domain to a new create domain?
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Postby chicagotech » Sat Jan 20, 2007 3:39 pm

1. Make backup. When I moved our netforums from http://www.top5lists.org forums to http://www.chicagotech.net I used my hosting company control panel to backup sql database, whole home directory. I also backed the database using phpbb backup.

2. In the http://www.chicagotech.net, create the same forum using the same name as http://www.top5lists.org.

3. When I used control panel to restore sql database or whole home directory, I received the following message:
"phpBB : Critical Error

Could not connect to the database"

4. If I restored sql database using phpbb restore, I could have all posts, but I can't logon as administrator.

5. What I did make it work is open the sql database and change all top5lists.org to chicagotech.net. Then use phpbb restore. Now, I have all data and login work.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6753
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA


Return to Clients Post Only

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest