Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Automatic connect to Wireless Lan in Vista

Wi-Fi, Mobile phone.

Automatic connect to Wireless Lan in Vista

Postby chicagotech » Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:50 am

Open Network and Sharing Center. Select Manage wireless networks. Right-click on the wireless connection and select Properties. Make sure "Connect automatically when this network is in range" in Connection is checked.

--
Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com


"cpkoh" <cpkoh> wrote in message news:E32EF062-64B9-414A-B03E-33D3C200CB29@microsoft.com...
>I have my wireless connection to my internet and my problem is when I restart
> or switch on my conputer the wireless land is not connected and I have to
> manually connect. Is there a way to configure the computer to automatically
> connect to the wireless lan when turn on my computer.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Automatic connect to Wireless Lan in Vista

Postby mowerguy » Sun Aug 30, 2009 1:33 pm

Hi,

I, too have a similar problem, but it isn't as simple as going here and checking the box there. Been there, done that. Many, many, many times! The next startup, it doesn't connect automatically. I heard that VISTA will not connect to an unsecured network. I'm using Open WEP, which should be good enough to satisfy the requirement.

It would be nice if VISTA-64 would remember that I checked "Connect Automatically", but after a shutdown or restart, it's back to manual connection! I have another laptop running VISTA-32 and it's almost like a totally different OS!

What am I missing here? Any help would be very welcome.
mowerguy
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 1:21 pm

Re: Automatic connect to Wireless Lan in Vista

Postby cwhit70 » Sun Aug 30, 2009 3:53 pm

I am having a similiar problem with my Dell Studio 15 running Vista Home. Everytime I power on the computer, the wireless connection shows limited connectivity. All I have to do is disconnect and the reconnect and the connection works until the computer is shut down again.

The driver is up to date and the connection properties are set to automatically connect. I don't have trouble with my other Dell laptop. I have had the computer for almost a year now and Dell has not been able to resolve the problem.
cwhit70
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 3:42 pm

Re: Automatic connect to Wireless Lan in Vista

Postby chicagotech » Sun Aug 30, 2009 9:13 pm

In many cases, it could be wireless is running both Microsoft wireless software and manufacture wireless utility. This post may help. Vista doesn't automatically connect - viewtopic.php?f=7&t=7338&p=11786&sid=08414d4189c849029dff27b7e6528347#p11786
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Automatic connect to Wireless Lan in Vista

Postby mowerguy » Sun Aug 30, 2009 10:03 pm

My LENOVO has a program called "ReadyComm", also. I thought it might be the culprit.

Before I realized that, I downloaded the latest driver set from Intel for the WiFi Link 5100. VISTA had said that the latest and greatest driver was already installed, but there was a set over a year newer!

I also downloaded their PROset/Wireless program for the 5100 adapter. I have not yet deleted the ReadyComm, but will as soon as I end the typing here.

So far, after only one restart, the adapter connected automatically. I will do several more shutdowns/start-ups before I declare it good!

Great Forum!
mowerguy
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 1:21 pm

Re: Automatic connect to Wireless Lan in Vista

Postby blin » Sun Aug 30, 2009 11:25 pm

Thank you for the feedback.
How to Configure and Troubleshoot Cisco
http://www.howtocisco.com

Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com
blin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3642
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Chicago, USA


Return to Wireless

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests