Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Can't access XP with error 0x80070005

Active Directory, Domain, DNS, WINS, DHCP, SBS, New Releases.

Can't access XP with error 0x80070005

Postby chicagotech » Sat Nov 17, 2007 12:20 pm

In many cases, 0x80070005 error is access denied error. It could be permission issue, name resolution issue or computer browser issue. In this case, it is more likely name resolution or computer browser issue. To test it, use net view \\remotexpnmae command on vista. You should receive a system error. post back with the result. Or check this troubleshooting yourself.

System Errors
If the net view command fails with a "System error 5 has occurred. Access is denied." message, 1) make sure you are logged on using an account that has ...
www.chicagotech.net/systemerrors.htm


--
Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com


"delta_J" <deltaJ> wrote in message news:C6229E3E-6172-4161-AEE0-44BFDDF037E4@microsoft.com...
> Let me start by describing our home network. We have 2 wireless laptops and a
> desktop plugged into the router. One laptop is running Vista Ultimate x86,
> the other laptop and the desktop are running XP Pro SP2 x86.
>
> The problem lies in neither of the laptops being able to connect to the
> shared folders or shared printer on the desktop. I have installed the LLTD
> Responder update (KB922120) on the XP computers and they are able to ping the
> desktop without a problem. The shared folders/printer does not appear in the
> XP laptop's Network Places; they do however appear in the Vista network
> window, but when I try to open any of the remote folders, I receive an
> 0x80070005 error; in Vista's opinion the diagnostic utility finds nothing
> wrong. The Vista network map does show all three computers normally, but the
> desktop is presented as connecting behind a switch. We have a Linksys WRT54G
> router which has not prompted Vista to display its switch capability in the
> past. I suspect this is causing the inability of either laptop to connect to
> the desktop, but the switch has only appeared in the last week or so when
> connectivity stopped. We've had the Vista laptop since this past August and
> the XP computers for over 3 years with the same exact router.
>
> Could this be a router problem, Vista, or XP? Any suggestions would be
> appreciated.
> Cheers
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7087
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Nov 20, 2007 2:15 pm

The problem is that the Linksys WRTG54 Router does not have the
firmware to communicate consistently with VISTA. I have expienced
network failures with my Vista Notebook. My XP (16) machines do not
have problems with my network Linkysys gigabit gateway, 3 WRTG54
routers. However, the Vista notebook, looses connections and
correction requires a restart. Further investigation with Microsoft,
confirms the WRTG54 is not compatible with VISTA.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7087
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA


Return to Windows

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests