Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Solved: one user uses temp profile when logon Vista

Active Directory, Domain, DNS, WINS, DHCP, SBS, New Releases.

Solved: one user uses temp profile when logon Vista

Postby chicagotech » Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:24 pm

Symptoms: 1. The user who logon using his domain username doesn't have profile. Instead, he uses temporary profile.
2. Any changes in the desktop will not be saved because he uses temp profile.
3. Trying the different computer has the same issue.
4. Logon the same computer using different name OK.
5. Logon XP computer works fine.
6. Event Viewer has these error: Event ID: 1530 - Windows detected your registry file is still in use by other applications or services. The file will be unloaded now. The applications or services that
hold your registry file may not function properly afterwards and Event ID: 1532 - The User Profile Service has stopped.


Problem: the user is the member of Guest group. Remove it from the group fixes the problem.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6486
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby Allubz » Tue Feb 20, 2007 2:21 pm

Hey,

I think I have this problem, but for some reason it's not signed in as Guest. This is probably because it's my only account, and it's an Administrator account. I can't change anything to make this go away, any suggestions?
Allubz
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 2:19 pm

Postby chicagotech » Tue Feb 20, 2007 3:13 pm

Which groups does this account belong to?
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6486
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:05 am

Thank you for the feedback.

Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
"Dennis" <Dennis> wrote in message news:9AE0AF6B-2AF7-4A2F-9E47-5F0FDD42B8B9@microsoft.com...
Great answer - resolved the issue.
--
Thanks
Dennis
Application Support


"Robert L [MVP - Networking]" wrote:

> This post may help,
>
> Solved: one user uses temp profile ...The user who logon using his domain username doesn't have profile. Instead, he uses temporary profile. 2. Any changes in the desktop will not be saved ...
> http://www.chicagotech.net/netforums/vi ... .php?t=241
>
>
> Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
> Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
> How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
> "Dennis" <Dennis> wrote in message news:0ABD18FD-86B0-4D1D-A0B1-7BDAAB3F291E@microsoft.com...
> On my Vista Business machine, the profile became corrupt last Friday. In
> trying to start the machine, it created a default temporary profile. I've
> gone back to a copy of the profile (profile and profile.vs folders) from two
> weeks ago, copied them to both the HD and the server location, but the
> machine continues to give the error about loading the profile and defaults to
> the temporary profile.
>
> Any suggestions on how to get a previous version of the profile installed on
> the machine?
> --
> Thanks
> Dennis
> Application Support
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6486
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:42 pm

Alo check this link

A temporary user profile is created every time that you log on to ...Describes an issue in which a temporary user profile is created every time that you log on to a Windows Vista-based computer that is connected to a domain.
support.microsoft.com/kb/940453
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6486
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Sep 04, 2007 12:40 pm

I also received the following Events. Removing the Domain Guests fixed problem.

Log Name: Application
Source: Microsoft-Windows-User Profiles Service
Date: Date
Event ID: 1511
Task Category: None
Level: Warning
Keywords: Classic
User: User
Computer: Computer
Description: Windows cannot find the local profile and is logging you on with a temporary profile. Changes you make to this profile will be lost when you log off

Log Name: Application
Source: Microsoft-Windows-User Profiles Service
Date: Date
Event ID: 1534
Task Category: None
Level: Warning
Keywords: Classic
User: User
Computer: Computer
Description: Profile notification of event Delete for component {error code} failed, error code is -2147024894.

Log Name: Application
Source: Microsoft-Windows-Search
Date: Date
Event ID: 3036
Task Category: Gatherer
Level: Warning
Keywords: Classic
User: User
Computer: Computer
Description: The content source <csc> cannot be accessed.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6486
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Sep 04, 2007 5:19 pm

I have been troubleshooting the same issue for last weeks. All administrators can make changes except me. Any settings I created lost after re-logon.

Event I have removed guest and domain guests account, I can't logon because it displays Temp profile. After restarting the computer and it clean the temp profile, I can logon now. Thank you!
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6486
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Sep 04, 2007 10:19 pm

Whenever I restart my Vista computer, it stop the POST saying the configuration has been changed and press F1 to save the configuration. I fixed this problem until you remove myself from the domain guests.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6486
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby Rilla927 » Sat Dec 08, 2007 6:12 am

Hi All,

I know this thread hasn't been active but I have been searching and beating my head up against the wall trying to find the answer I needed. Thanks to you guys I have found it :D

I'm a little unclear on this. In Vista Ultimate I have only one account as administrator, do I need to create another account/ name (under Administrator or no) before I can remove the Guest account?

Thanks very much, maybe I can get some sleep now :wink:
~Rilla927~
Rilla927
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 5:26 am

Postby chicagotech » Sat Dec 08, 2007 9:55 am

By default, the Administrator and guest should be disabled. So, you should create another user for yourself.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6486
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA


Return to Windows

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests