Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Vista can use WEP but WPA

Wi-Fi, Mobile phone.

Vista can use WEP but WPA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Dec 25, 2007 9:48 pm

Case 1: The Vista Intel wireless NIC can use WEP to access the wireless network, but not WPA. Resolution: install latest NIC driver.

Case 2: Replacing the old router with a new one fixed the problem.

Case 3: Installed the a new firmware for the router.

Case 4: Roll back the NIC driver and use a old network driver.

Case 5: complete remove IPv6 following this link.

Vista IPCONFIG and Network Settings
How to disable TCP/IPv6 How to disable IPv6 and Tunnel on Vista How to disable ICS public connection in Vista How to: Enabling ICS on Vista ...
www.howtonetworking.com/vista/vistaipconfig.htm
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Sat Dec 29, 2007 10:53 am

Switching to WPA2 worked fine for me.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Sat Dec 29, 2007 10:54 am

Yes, just purchased a brand-new Acer including Vista Ultimate and Intel 3945 ABG. After two evenings including upgrading to the newest 11.1.0.86 3945 ABG drivers the conclusion is that Vista Ultimate + Intel 3945 ABG + WPA-PSK does not work. Playing around with my WLAN AP, I experienced exactly the same things as reported in this thread. Only real good discovery is that ...

WPA2-PSK (using AES) does work !

Numrous XP computers have absolutely no trouble connecting to the WLAN AP by WPA-PSK but I have however noticed difficulties with the Intel WLAN chips before under XP.

Forgot to mention that my AP is a Zyxel 1000G
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Sat Dec 29, 2007 10:55 am

ok, problem solved

and it was simply an upgrade to the latest Belkin Firmware Update from the belkin website

Very helpful Belkin helpdesk and website sorted this

WPA works all day every day now and other options such as WPA2 are available

experiencing no dropouts etc in either Vista machine or XP machine for last 5 days
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Sat Dec 29, 2007 10:56 am

I agree its a Vista and WPApersonal issue (TKIC).

I have Vista Home Premium, running on a Sony Vaio VGCLA2 (desktop based on laptop technology) with an Atheros LANexpress AS IEEE 802.11g PCI-E wireless adapter. Driver is updated to latest. The wireless router is a Philipps SNA6600 with latest firmware.

I get an intermittent connection error - wireless drops out after sleep or screen saver with the timeout error if you try to re-connect immediately. It comes back after a while all on its own (meanwhile I have re inserted a cable connection). A laptop running XP connects beautifully with WPA TKIC.

The frustrating thing is I can find no settings that seem to allow me to adjust the time of the timeout ! The event log provides no useful pointers.

When using the same set up and WEP it worked fine. Conclusion: Vista and WPApersonal seem to be the common cause.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Sat Dec 29, 2007 10:57 am

looks like this card is just working with the older standard 802.11b and this one does just support wep. Then you are not able to connect to a wireless network using wpa.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Sat Dec 29, 2007 10:58 am

I had this problem up until recently with the following configuration:

Toshiba laptop

Card: Intel 3945ABG

OS: Vista Business

Encryption: WPA1

Router: 3Com 3CRWDR100A-72

I just changed my router to a Netgear DG834G and the problem went away.
]
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Sat Dec 29, 2007 10:59 am

If you can get into your windows "manage wireless connection" one thing that Drove me nuts was seeing that windows was setting my wpa2 to enterprise wpa2. Id change it and then it would connect but to fix it I had to delete my connection from the list and use the Check for connections icon in the taskbar and run the setup. Now vista says "oh o.k" and lets me connect hassle free. Double check if that will help you.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby guest » Sat Dec 29, 2007 12:55 pm

lucky to some i even updated to the latest drivers from Intel all i get not is not time out notice, instead i am getting constant connect and disconnect from the intel card.

My router is a Belkin F5D7630A router... there is not much setting in it.

Are you using the same router and got it working under WPA personal encryptions?
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Postby guest » Sat Dec 29, 2007 12:57 pm

The Intel 11.1.1.11 drivers are working for a bit over a day at home (802.11G WEP) and work (802.11G and 802.11a WPA) once I unselected (disabled) "Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power setting".

Here's one way to find this setting under Windows Vista:

Control Panel > Network and Sharing Center > Manage network connections

Wireless Network Connection > Properties > Power Management
Unselect Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power.
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Postby guest » Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:00 pm

Disabling IPv6 worked for me.
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Postby guest » Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:01 pm

i just had the same problem and was able to SOLVE it in this way:

I switched the router operation mode from .11g with g protection enabled to mix mode: 802.11b + 802.11g without g protection.

Hope it helps u in any way.

Good luck
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Postby chicagotech » Sat Dec 29, 2007 10:48 pm

Also check this post.

Vista: Lose wireless connection ...Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2007 5:06 am Post subject: Vista: Lose wireless connection and must reboot (WPA2-AES), Reply with quote ...
www.chicagotech.net/netforums/viewtopic ... 6521b4fb47
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA


Return to Wireless

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests