Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Unable to connect to Wireless Network after Sleep

Wi-Fi, Mobile phone.

Unable to connect to Wireless Network after Sleep

Postby chicagotech » Sat Dec 29, 2007 10:34 am

Disable IPV6. Or this link may help,

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://www.chicagotech.net/forum1.htm

Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com

I recently bought a HP laptop with Windows Vista Home Premium installed and
inbuilt wireless. I was successfully able to establish a wireless network
with my linksys router. The problem is whenever I hibernate my machine or use
the sleep option, after starting up its not able to find any wireless
networks and therefore cannot connect. If I shutdown and then restart, its
able to detect wireless networks again and connects automatically to my
default network. My wireless is being managed by inbuilt HP utility. It has
to be a Windows issue as one of friends is also facing similar problems with
a different brand laptop.
Is that a known issue or any setting I can change to resolve.
Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Sat Dec 29, 2007 10:35 am

I was having hte same problem and just fixed it tonight.

Get properties on your network connection and click on Configure...
Then click on the Power Management tab. Uncheck "Allow this computer
to turn of this device to save power". Click Ok.

Now it should be fine. At least mine was fine after I did this. I
think what happens is that Vista somehow disables the adapter (in some
kind of behind the scenes way that you don't see) and doesn't turn it
back on until you disable/re-enable the adapter or reboot the machine.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Sat Dec 29, 2007 10:36 am

If you're getting kicked off the wireless network periodically, then you
might be having a mismatch between your client security settings and the AP.
Check to make sure both are the same, and let me know.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Sat Dec 29, 2007 10:46 am

I am beginning to agree that this is a Vista issue and not from McAffee. I
believe that some other people are having the same problem running other
anti-virus programs.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Lost Wireless connection to my network

Postby zagith » Sun Jan 06, 2008 1:01 pm

I came across this thread and it is almost identical to the problem I experienced. I have an HP laptop with Vista Ultimate and just recently got it connected to the internet via the wireless ability of the laptop to my Linksys WRT54G. Everything was working beautifully, until I opened my laptop, it was in sleep/hibernation mode and now I am unable to connect to the internet. I have tried rebooting several times without any success. I can see my network but it cant connect to it.

I tried to follow the steps you all have mentioned to get this to work but I am having problems locating the configuration portion (sorry for my inabilities when it comes to Vista). Can someone walk me through the steps? Or is there something else I can do to get this to work?

I right clicked on the the desktop shortcut for the Network connections > properties > but there's nothing there for configuration. I also right clicked on my wireless network >properites> but still nothing.

Thank you in advance for your patience and help in this matter.

-Zag
zagith
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 12:54 pm

Postby chicagotech » Sun Jan 06, 2008 5:35 pm

I am not sure what's the problem. You may open Network and sharing center. Select Manage Network connections.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby zagith » Tue Jan 08, 2008 12:54 am

Follow up, I was able to successfully connect to my works wireless network flawlessly but I am still unable to connect to my home wireless network. I deleted the first network connection in hopes it would re-initialize and work properly. Unfortunately that was not the case, I am no further on fixing the problem.

Im broadcasting my SSID and only security I am using it MAC Filtering. I verified that I have the correct MAC address in my filter list.

Please, help!!! Thanks

-Zag
zagith
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 12:54 pm

Postby chicagotech » Tue Jan 08, 2008 9:09 am

If you setup the wireless can you connect it?
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby zagith » Tue Jan 08, 2008 11:32 am

I have another computer (desktop-upstairs) that connects to my home wireless network without issue. So I personally feel it has to do with my laptop especially since it was originally working until my laptop went into sleep/hibernation mode. After I "woke" it up, it no longer is able to connect to my wireless network.

I deleted the connection in my laptop was showing up to my network in hopes it would search it out and reconnect, but alas that didnt work. I also power cycled my router - again it didnt work. I feel like there is still a setting or something still setup on my laptop that is not allowing it to reconnect to my wireless network. I just dont know where to start looking.

-Zag
zagith
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 12:54 pm

Postby chicagotech » Tue Jan 08, 2008 12:34 pm

You may have many options to fix that wireless doesn't work after sleep.

1. Re-set power management.
2. Upgrade firmware for the router and driver for wireless NIC.
3. Install Microsoft update.

If you have tried all above, you may have another option: remove the IPv6 from the Vista. This how to may help.

Vista IPCONFIG and Network Settings
How to: assign multiple static IPs in Vista How to change the binding order of network providers How to disable TCP/IPv6 How to disable IPv6 and Tunnel ...
www.howtonetworking.com/vista/vistaipconfig.htm
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA


Return to Wireless

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests