Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Solved: Vista can't access XP

Network Sharing , TCP/IP, Internet, Wireless, Exchange, IIS, ISA and Print

Solved: Vista can't access XP

Postby chicagotech » Sat Feb 10, 2007 2:49 pm

Thank you for the detail feedback. McAfee, Norton, OneCare and Windows firewall are first thing we share check whenever have ping or sharing issue.

Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com

problem resolved. the whole problem was mcafee, it took me for ever to find
the disable option, since they got a new complicated and useless UI, and u
have to go through configure>internet and network. from there u can disable
the firewall, or u can click in advanced>system services, and from there
check the ones u want. i selected network time protocol and file and printer
sharing(netbios). and some other ones i regularly use. try this out if you
have mcafee and make sure u do it in all computers, not just one. goodluck
and thanks to ROBERT L, for helping :)

"Frank" wrote:

> i cant ping my xp desktop, i already followed the steps from that link, and
> still not working. i have the same username on my xp computer, without the
> password though, and thats why i have password protection off. any other
> thing for me to try. i dont get it why stupid MS didnt have a simple network
> setup and file and printer sharing thing like they did with xp, in less than
> 10secs, i had everything done on my xp. and with my vista, it has taken me
> more than 10 hours over all.
>
> "Robert L [MVP - Networking]" wrote:
>
> > Have you tried to create the same username on the XP? Or check this troubleshooting,
> >
> > Step by step troubleshooting VISTA sharing
> > 1. Make sure you can see each other, for example ping. 2. Make sure you enable file sharing....
> > http://www.chicagotech.net/netforums/vi ... .php?t=273
> >
> > Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
> > Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
> > How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com

> > i have vista ultimate, and im trying to use my printer on my xp pro desktop
> > from my notebook. i can only see my xp desktop, but i cant get in it, neither
> > see my HP printer, and my printer is supported by vista. i have installed the
> > LLTD or something protocol on my xp, i have done so many things. my network
> > is public, on the network and sharing center, the only things that are off
> > are the pasword protected sharing and media sharing, everything else is on.
> > can any one give me any advice on what to do next? thanks a lot
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Wed Oct 17, 2007 9:46 am

Thank you for the update.

--
Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com


<mwulfe> wrote in message news:8jnah39vqu08d5khghf61cv3kq65cgseun@4ax.com...
>I found the problem, which was my Norton firewall. When I turned it
> off, I could ping both computers and they can now map to each other.
> Thanks for the help! Wanna buy a used Norton 360, cheap?
>
> On Tue, 16 Oct 2007 12:27:44 -0500, "Robert L \(MS-MVP\)"
> <noreply> wrote:
>
>>If you turn off the firewall, can you ping each other by IP? Or this link
>>may help.
>>
>>Vista troubleshootingTroubleshooting Vista Remote Access Issues ...
>>Networking between Vista and other Windows OS ... Info: Step by step
>>troubleshooting VISTA sharing ...
>> www.chicagotech.net/vista/vista.htm
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Sat Dec 15, 2007 6:30 pm

can you ping the XP by IP? If yes, what do you receive if using net view \\xpipaddress?

--
Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com


"PA" <PA> wrote in message news:95BE0EE9-8724-4817-8273-CDAB7BC6180E@microsoft.com...
> So it turned out that I had Norton Firewall still running on the Vista
> machine. I'm able to access the Vista from the XP laptop if I disable the
> firewall. I'm still however not able to access the XP machine from Vista
> regardless of the firewall settings.
>
> "PA" wrote:
>
>> Hello,
>>
>> I've read through the newsgroup and the various links posted and am still
>> having connectivity problems. I am trying to connect a laptop running XP
>> Home with a desktop running Vista Home Premium. Both machines can get onto
>> the Internet via the same wireless router. Currently, in my Network Places
>> on the XP machine, I can see the Vista machine but when I click on it, it
>> says //computername is not accessible. On the Vista PC, I can view the XP
>> machine within the Network Map, but am not able to click on it. It also does
>> not show up under the "View Computers & Devices" link. Based on others'
>> problems here, I've tried the following:
>>
>> On the XP machine:
>> - disabled the Windows firewall on the XP, no other firewall running
>> - ran the network wizard and saved the setup files to a thumb drive and
>> installed on the Vista
>> - enabled File & Printer sharing, and shared a folder
>>
>> On the Vista machine:
>> - made the network private, changed the workgroup to WORKGROUP, to match the
>> XP machine
>> - turned off Password protected sharing, turned everything else on
>>
>> Thanks in advance for your help!
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Mon Dec 24, 2007 10:18 am

Thank you for the update.

--
Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com


"Wildcat" <rwhelan> wrote in message news:D6D9B2AC-73F3-4DF8-9982-091C28AB3CF2@microsoft.com...
>I found it worked best to set up the network before any security was
> installed to reduce the configuration problems. Then when I installed the
> firewall it allowed the network. No more local or limited access.
>
> "Robert L. (MS-MVP)" <noreply> wrote in message
> news:F0046EDE-13FE-4283-A893-14351188C42E@microsoft.com...
>>I would check any security software first. or these links may help. Please
>>post back with the result.
>>
>> Solved: Vista can't access XPSolved: Vista can't access XP .... I'm still
>> however not able to access the XP machine from Vista > regardless of the
>> firewall settings. ...
>> www.chicagotech.net/netforums/viewtopic.php?t=283 - Similar pages
>>
>> Vista cannot access others
>> Vista can't access other computers. Can't browser another XP computer
>> ... Post Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 6:11 pm Post subject: Vista: can't see
>> XP . ...
>> www.chicagotech.net/vista/vistaaccess1.htm
>>
>>
>> --
>> Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
>> Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on
>> http://www.ChicagoTech.net
>> How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on
>> http://www.HowToNetworking.com
>>
>>
>> "Vladimir" <Vladimir> wrote in message
>> news:FAAE9465-D926-41E4-8941-DEB35EE0845E@microsoft.com...
>>> Hi folks,
>>>
>>> merry xmas to everyone :)
>>>
>>> I have a small wireless network with a vista premium pc and an older
>>> laptop
>>> with shared drives - that are normally seen on a different xp machine or
>>> linux stations. On Vista, I can find the laptop as it is in network,
>>> however, i can not "explore" it, view its shared drives. The help adviced
>>> to
>>> flush dns cache as i did on both machines to be sure, but i still cannot
>>> access the small laptop - vista is OTOH accessible from it.
>>> Has anyone experienced it ?
>>> I am happy for any suggestions.
>>> Thanks,
>>> Vladimir
>>
>
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Solved: Vista can't access XP

Postby chicagotech » Fri Oct 30, 2009 4:48 pm

Got it!

The problem was with the McAfee Firewall. For whatever reason when I
checked it always said Firewall service not running and I couldn't get in to
do anything with it. After running McAfee's Virtual Technician to correct
that problem I shut the McAfee Firewall down and can not access the XP
machine.

Thanks again,

Rick

What happens when you search for the desktop from the laptop? You
should be able to search for it with "\\machinename".

Try temporarily turning off the XP firewall and make sure the McAfee
firewall is really turned off--sometimes getting AV firewalls turned
off can be problematic.

Also, ensure you really aren't running any other security programs on
the XP machine.

XP should be the easier to see from Vista then the other way around,
so something is not set up correctly on the XP machine.

Also, make sure the workgroups are the same and that you have checked
your networking assignments on both. If either is set for a manual IP
and the range is wrong, things get go wrong.


Dale

> Thanks,
>
> I have the McAfee Firewall turned off on both computers with only the
> Windows firewall running. I can ping the Vista portable from the XP
> desktop
> (192.168.1.101) but I can't ping the desktop (192.168.1.100) from the
> Vista
> laptop. I'm pretty sure I have enabled NetBIOS over TCP/IP. I also tried
> disabling the SPI Firewall in the Linksys router but no help there either.
>
> Thanks,
>
> Rick
>

>
> > Have you enabled NetBIOS over TCP/IP? Also it could be 3rd party
> > security
> > software issue. For troubleshooting, try clean boot.
> > Windows general
> > How to run Windows OS with a clean boot · How to Run Windows Safe
> > Mode with Networking · How to setup DHCP for IP Phone · How to setup and
> > use Wake on LAN ...
> > www.howtonetworking.com/Windows/windowsgeneral.htm
>
> > --
> > Bob Lin, Microsoft-MVP, MCSE & CNE
> > Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on
> >http://www.ChicagoTech.net
> > How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on
> >http://www.HowToNetworking.com
>

> >>I have a Desktop running XP - SP3 wired to a Linksys wireless router. My
> >>Vista laptop is wireless. I can connect to the Internet fine from either
> >>machine. I can see and access the laptop from the desktop but I can't
> >>see
> >>the desktop XP machine from the Vista laptop. I went through this same
> >>thing with my network up north but now that we've moved back to Florida
> >>I've got the same problem. McAfee network management shows both machines
> >>on the network but I can't access shared files and printers from the
> >>laptop.
>
> >> I know there are some settings I need to make to the Vista laptop but I
> >> can't remember what I did to get it working up north.
>
> >> Can anyone help?
>
> >> Thanks, Rick
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7066
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA


Return to Networking

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests