Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Q & A: Vista wireless cannot access Internet

Wi-Fi, Mobile phone.

Q & A: Vista wireless cannot access Internet

Postby chicagotech » Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:18 am

You may have multiple NICs, but the ipconfig shows only wireless connects. From the ipconfig result, I think you may have a routing issue. Can you post the routing table back? To do that, use this command line: route print.

Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com

Bob

You are correct, we have two computers in our network one is connected wired
to the router and is running Windows XP and one is a wireless connection to
the second machine which was recently upgraded to Vista Home. This is the
machine I am having issue with. Per your request:

Windows IP Configuration


Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Link-local IPv6 Address.....: fe80::a507:90cd:7eaa:c35b%9
IPv4 Address...........: 192.168.1.101
Subnet Mask...........: 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway..........: 0.0.0.0
192.168.1.1

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State..............: Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection*:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Link-local IPv6 Address.....: fe80::5efe:192.168.1.101%15
Default Gateway.........:

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 8:

Media State...........: Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

"Robert L [MVP - Networking]" wrote:

> What do you mean multiple networks? Do you mean the multihomed computer with two NICs? Post the result of ipconfig /all here may help.
>
> Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
> Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
> How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com

> I have a linksys wireless g network that connects to my computer as multiple
> networks one as the ssid i set my network up as, and another as an
> unidentified network. If i disconnect from one they both go away. The
> multiple network issue causes IE not to connect. Please HELP?
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6917
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Can't connect also

Postby opromitheas » Tue Jan 29, 2008 10:26 am

I have the same problem with my laptop,i have windows vista and i am trying to connect wireless with a rooter,which also 3 other pcs are using(all them have xp) and i am the only one which can't connect properly!Some times i am connected and i can be in the net but usually it shows me that i am connected but i can't open any website or do something else in the internet.
I reset many times the rooter,also i was tryin to repair the problem as my Windows Vista suggested me but still i couldn't use the internet.
The routing table is the same with the previous' guy.
opromitheas
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 6:18 am

Postby chicagotech » Tue Jan 29, 2008 10:35 am

When you said routing table is the same, do you mean Default Gateway..........: 0.0.0.0?
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6917
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby opromitheas » Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:29 am

Windows IP Configuration ( i have different IPv4 and subnet mask and defualt gateway,but it shows me excactly these things)


Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Link-local IPv6 Address.....: fe80::a507:90cd:7eaa:c35b%9
IPv4 Address...........: 192.168.1.101
Subnet Mask...........: 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway..........: 0.0.0.0
192.168.1.1

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State..............: Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection*:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Link-local IPv6 Address.....: fe80::5efe:192.168.1.101%15
Default Gateway.........:

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 8:

Media State...........: Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Also the Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* is until number 12 and all of them show me that the Media is disconnected.

Yesterday i tried also to connect with ethernet cable and i managed to connect for 2 hours but later again i couldn't connect even with this!It shows me all the time that i am connected wireless with the rooter but the graphic in Vista shows me that from the rooter to the Internet the line is not connected.Only the laptop with Vista has this problem in the network of the the house.
I can't connect and update the drivers of the adapters or try to solve this problem with help from microsoft online or find solutions online.
opromitheas
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 6:18 am

Postby chicagotech » Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:14 am

Disable IPV6. If that doesn't fix the problem, post back with the result of ipconfig /all.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6917
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby opromitheas » Wed Jan 30, 2008 4:56 pm

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : PAOK
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home.aster.pl

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home.aster.pl
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 590x 10/100 Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-4B-5E-D4-17
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.102(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : tet??t?, 30 ?a???a???? 2008 10:42:02 µµ
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : p?µpt?, 31 ?a???a???? 2008 10:43:24 µµ
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 212.76.39.211
212.76.39.205
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-6B-B7-D3-96
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.sgt.cpqcorp.net
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home.aster.pl
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.102%15(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 212.76.39.211
212.76.39.205
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

I disable IPv6 but still no connection.Neither with wireless or ethernet cable.
opromitheas
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 6:18 am

Postby chicagotech » Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:01 pm

The default gateway looks fine. Can you ping yahoo.com?
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6917
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby opromitheas » Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:13 pm

I can't do anything on internet...i can't connect.
opromitheas
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 6:18 am

Postby opromitheas » Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:26 pm

Is it possible to change this " IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No "
And make them "yes",is it possible to have connection with my connection problem?
opromitheas
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 6:18 am

Postby chicagotech » Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:54 pm

IP Rouintg is for multihomed computer. You don't need that. Post back with the result of this command "tarcert 4.2.2.1".
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6917
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby opromitheas » Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:24 pm

I found the problem...Norton Antivirus....it was blocking everything and when i was connecting to the internet it was chosen to block it after 15 minutes automatically!
I don't know why in the first days when i bought the laptop didn't create me this problem and started this the last week!
I didn't pay attention to the antivirus in the beggining because i didn't have any problem and now it started to block everything without touching any options.
Thank you very much for you help and i hope that i won't have again the same problems...
opromitheas
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 6:18 am

Postby chicagotech » Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:49 pm

Thank you for the feedback.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6917
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby opromitheas » Fri Feb 01, 2008 6:00 am

After a switched off the Norton Antivirus i had internet but again yesterday i can't connect with the internet,same things like before...it shows me that i am connected with the rooter wireless but no internet.
I turned off the anitvirus also but nothing then i disable also the IPv6 but still nothing.
I will try send as soon as possible(i don't have my laptop at work) the result of the command "tarcent 4.2.2.1" as you said previously.
opromitheas
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 6:18 am

Postby opromitheas » Fri Feb 01, 2008 1:10 pm

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : PAOK
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home.aster.pl

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home.aster.pl
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11a/b/g WLAN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-73-7B-B4-A9
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : ĐáńáóęĺőŢ, 1 Öĺâńďőáńßďő 2008 6:41:07 ěě
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : ÓÜââáôď, 2 Öĺâńďőáńßďő 2008 6:42:50 ěě
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 212.76.39.211
212.76.39.205
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-6B-B7-D3-96
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.sgt.cpqcorp.net
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home.aster.pl
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.101%17(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 212.76.39.211
212.76.39.205
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

This is what it shows me now,but i can't get a result of the commang which you told me.can you explain me excactly what i have to do?
opromitheas
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 6:18 am

Postby chicagotech » Fri Feb 01, 2008 2:18 pm

In the command prompt, type "tracert 4.2.2.1", and then press Enter.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6917
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Next

Return to Wireless

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests