Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

SharePoint 'Unable to get global configuration data' error

Network Sharing , TCP/IP, Internet, Wireless, Exchange, IIS, ISA and Print

SharePoint 'Unable to get global configuration data' error

Postby chicagotech » Sat Mar 15, 2008 9:36 pm

You receive the 'Unable to get global configuration data' error ...Describes problem when you try to connect to a SharePoint Web site and you receive the following error message: 'Unable to get global configuration data'
support.microsoft.com/kb/900499 - Similar pages

You receive an error message when you run the pre-upgrade scan ...Error message 9. An exception of type Microsoft.SharePoint. ... SharePoint.SPException: Unable to get global configuration data. ---> System.Runtime. ...
support.microsoft.com/kb/937291
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7087
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby guest » Sat Mar 15, 2008 10:27 pm

According to your description, I understand that you get "Unable to get
global configuration data" error on your Companyweb and get event error
824. If I have misunderstood the problem, please don't hesitate to let me
know.

Based on my research, I suggest we try the following steps to see if we can
resolve this issue:

Step 1: This behavior occurs when one of following conditions is true:
a. The user account to which the application pool identity for the virtual
server is configured does not have the permissions that are required to
access the content folder for the virtual server.
b. The virtual server content database is located on a remote computer that
is running Microsoft SQL server.
c. The account that is used by the virtual server does not have database
owner permissions or database access permissions for the content database.

By default, the Default Web site uses the IIS_WPG group account. The
IIS_WPG group account contains accounts that are used to run the virtual
server.

However, the IIS_WPG group account may not have the required permissions to
access the new content folder when you create a new virtual server and a
new content directory.

In this situation, you must add the IIS_WPG group account or the account
that is used to run the virtual server on the content folder. Then, you
must grant the following permissions:

Read & Execute
List Folder Contents
Read

To assign security permissions to a folder, follow these steps:
1. Start Windows Explorer. To do this, click Start, click Run, type
explorer , and then click OK.
2. Locate and then right-click the folder where the content of your
virtual server is located, and then click Properties.
3. Click the Security tab.
4. Click Add, type IIS_WPG , click Check Names, and then click OK.

Note If you use an account other than the IIS_WPG account to run the
virtual server, modify this step accordingly.

5. In the Group or user names list, click the account that you added in
step 4.
6. Click to select all the following check boxes in the Allow column:

Read & Execute
List Folder Contents
Read

7. Click OK.

Then, test this issue.

For detail information please refer to the following KB:

You receive the 'Unable to get global configuration data' error message in
Microsoft Windows SharePoint Services or in Microsoft Office SharePoint
Portal Server 2003
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=900499

Step 2: If the issue persists, I think the companyweb database maybe
corrupted. I suggest you perform the steps in the following KB to reinstall
the companyweb on SBS:

How to remove and how to install the Windows Small Business Server 2003
SharePoint Services 2.0 companyweb Web site
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=829114

If we cannot resolve the issue after we perform the above steps, please
help me collect some information for further investigation:

1. Please capture screenshots on the error messages and send the pictures
to me at v-terliu@microsoft.com

2. Do you install Sharepoint 3.0 on your SBS?

3. Gather MPS network report on SBS:

a. Download MPSrepot_network from
http://download.microsoft.com/download/ ... 79-30b0bd9
15706/MPSRPT_NETWORK.EXE

b. Run MPSRPT_NETWORK.exe.

c. The tool will automatically collect the information. This procedure will
take 10~15 minutes.

d. Open Windows Explorer, navigate to the folder:
%SystemRoot%\MPSReports\Network\Reports\Cab\

e. Send the .cab file directly to me at v-terliu@microsoft.com

I hope these steps will give you some help.

Thanks and have a nice day!

Happy New Year!

Best regards,

Terence Liu(MSFT)
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Postby chicagotech » Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:25 am

That was the solution! Thank you very much.

- The core error string is "Unable to get global configuration data" which makes it sound like WSS is looking at the wrong global config database or it doesn't have rights to it.

Either way, you should be able to go to add/remove programs on the application tier and repair TFS and it should fix this for you.

You can also manually check WSS's configuration to see what might be wrong, but the provision steps during install (and repair) should take care of this for you.



- I am getting the following error when trying to create a new Team Project. The problem appears to be related to setting up the SharePoint Portal site for the new Team Project. I was able to successfully set up several Team Projects previously. I have searched the message boards and have done the following based on guidence found there:

Given NETWORKSERVICE Account permission to access STS_Config_TFS in SQL Server 2005
Run 'stsadm -o upgrade -forceupgrade'
Repaired .NET 2.0

Nothing has seemed to work. I have not seen the specific error code (0x81070550) referenced anywhere. Any help would be appreciated.

2007-02-20 12:45:01Z | Module: WssSiteCreator | Thread: 9 | TF30267: Exception: System.Web.Services.Protocols.SoapException: Exception of type 'Microsoft.SharePoint.SoapServer.SoapServerException' was thrown.
at System.Web.Services.Protocols.SoapHttpClientProtocol.ReadResponse(SoapClientMessage message, WebResponse response, Stream responseStream, Boolean asyncCall)
at System.Web.Services.Protocols.SoapHttpClientProtocol.Invoke(String methodName, Object[] parameters)
at Microsoft.TeamFoundation.Proxy.Portal.Admin.CreateSite(String Url, String Title, String Description, Int32 Lcid, String WebTemplate, String OwnerLogin, String OwnerName, String OwnerEmail, String PortalUrl, String PortalName)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.WssSiteCreator.CreateSite(WssSiteData siteCreationData, ProjectCreationContext context)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.WssSiteCreator.Execute(ProjectCreationContext context, XmlNode taskXml)
---begin Exception entry---
Time: 2007-02-20 12:45:01Z
Module: Engine
Event Description: TF30162: Task "SharePointPortal" from Group "Portal" failed
Exception Type: Microsoft.TeamFoundation.Client.PcwException
Exception Message: The Project Creation Wizard encountered an error while uploading documents to the Windows SharePoint Services server on netdb-dev.
Exception Details: The Project Creation Wizard encountered a problem while uploading
documents to the Windows SharePoint Services server on netdb-dev.
The reason for the failure cannot be determined at this time.
Because the operation failed, the wizard was not able to finish
creating the Windows SharePoint Services site.
Stack Trace:
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.WssSiteCreator.Execute(ProjectCreationContext context, XmlNode taskXml)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.ProjectCreationEngine.TaskExecutor.PerformTask(IProjectComponentCreator componentCreator, ProjectCreationContext context, XmlNode taskXml)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.ProjectCreationEngine.RunTask(Object taskObj)
-- Inner Exception --
Exception Type: System.Web.Services.Protocols.SoapException
Exception Message: Exception of type 'Microsoft.SharePoint.SoapServer.SoapServerException' was thrown.
SoapException Details: <detail><errorstring>Unable to get global configuration data.</errorstring><errorcode>0x81070550</errorcode></detail>
Stack Trace:
at System.Web.Services.Protocols.SoapHttpClientProtocol.ReadResponse(SoapClientMessage message, WebResponse response, Stream responseStream, Boolean asyncCall)
at System.Web.Services.Protocols.SoapHttpClientProtocol.Invoke(String methodName, Object[] parameters)
at Microsoft.TeamFoundation.Proxy.Portal.Admin.CreateSite(String Url, String Title, String Description, Int32 Lcid, String WebTemplate, String OwnerLogin, String OwnerName, String OwnerEmail, String PortalUrl, String PortalName)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.WssSiteCreator.CreateSite(WssSiteData siteCreationData, ProjectCreationContext context)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TeamFoundation.WssSiteCreator.Execute(ProjectCreationContext context, XmlNode taskXml)
-- end Inner Exception --
--- end Exception entry ---
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7087
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby guest » Wed Apr 30, 2008 8:00 pm

Q: We are running Windows 2003 R2 with SP2. The WSS 3 worked fine, but the WSS 2 doesn't. You can check all my posts in this groups.

I had uninstalled WSS 2 and 3 yesterday and reinstalled WSS 2 with SP2 first and it worked. Before I upgarde to WSS 3, I ran prescan /all without any errors. After ungraded the WSS 3, I receive "Unable to get global configuration data" when run http://localhost. I have tried the following troubleshooting:

1. psconfig -cmd upgrade -inplace b2b -wait -force

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\web server extensions\12\BIN>psconfig -cmd upgrade -inplace b2b -wait -force

SharePoint Products and Technologies Configuration Wizard version 12.0.4518.1016

Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation 2005. All rights reserved.

Performing configuration task 1 of 4

Initializing SharePoint Products and Technologies upgrade...

Successfully initialized SharePoint Products and Technologies upgrade.

Performing configuration task 2 of 4

Initiating the upgrade sequence...

Failed to initiate the upgrade sequence.

An exception of type Microsoft.SharePoint.Upgrade.SPUpgradeException was thrown.

Additional exception information: Action 3.0.2.0 of Microsoft.SharePoint.Upgra

de.SPConfigurationDatabaseSequence2 failed.

Total number of configuration settings run: 2

Total number of successful configuration settings: 1

Total number of unsuccessful configuration settings: 2

Successfully stopped the configuration of SharePoint Products and Technologies.

Configuration of SharePoint Products and Technologies failed. Configuration mus

t be performed before you use SharePoint Products and Technologies. For further

details, see the diagnostic log located at C:\Program Files\Common Files\Micros

oft Shared\Web Server Extensions\12\LOGS\PSCDiagnostics_3_16_2008_11_1_53_314_13

40802445.log and the application event log.

2. prescan /all
0%
100%

ERROR: Failure in the pre-upgrade scan tool. See the log files for more details

File Name:C:\DOCUME~1\BobLin\LOCALS~1\Temp\2\PreupgradeReport_633412664345451632
_Log.txt
File Name:C:\DOCUME~1\BobLin\LOCALS~1\Temp\2\PreupgradeReport_633412664345451632
_Summary.xml

See atched PSCDiag.txt fr the details.

3. I also checked KB900499, but I don't use SQL server. I am running Microsoft SQL Desktop Engine (SharePoint).

Help Please!

A: From your post log and the attach trace log file, I find the command error:

Successfully stopped the configuration of SharePoint Products and
Technologies.
Configuration of SharePoint Products and Technologies failed.
Configuration must be performed before you use SharePoint Products and
Technologies. For further details, see the diagnostic log located at
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Web Server
Extensions\12\LOGS\PSCDiagnostics_3_16_2008_11_1_53_314_1340802445.log and
the application event log.

03/16/2008 11:55:08 5 INF Resource retrieved id
PostSetupConfigurationFailedUserMessage is Configuration of SharePoint
Products and Technologies failed. Configuration must be performed before
you use SharePoint Products and Technologies. For further details, see the
diagnostic log located at {0} and the application event log.

Based on the error, it seems that you didn't run the SharePoint Products
and Technologies Configuration Wizard before you access the site. To do
this, click Start - Administrative Tools - SharePoint Products and
Technologies Configuration Wizard.

Then, wait until the wizard finishes, please check if you can access the
site successfully.
Last edited by guest on Sat May 03, 2008 5:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Postby guest » Wed Apr 30, 2008 8:00 pm

Thank you for the reply. I did run the configuration many times. The same
error message: "
Failed to initiate the upgrade sequence.

An exception of type Microsoft.SharePoint.Upgrade.SPUpgradeException was
thrown.

Additional exception information: Action 3.0.2.0 of
Microsoft.SharePoint.Upgra

de.SPConfigurationDatabaseSequence2 failed".

One more information. Before I received this error, I have another message:
"You must run setup to install new binary files for every server in your
server farm". Could this be the issue? How do you install new binary files
for server farm?
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Postby guest » Wed Apr 30, 2008 8:02 pm

We have 7 servers, but we just installed SharePoint on one of servers. When
running the configuration, I don't have the following steps because the
error.

5. On the Connect to a server farm page, select No, I want to create a new
server farm, and then click Next.
6. On the Specify Configuration Database Settings page, in the Database
server box, type the name of the server running Microsoft SQL Server 2000 or
SQL Server 2005.
7. In the Database name box, leave the default (SharePoint_Config) or type a
database name to use instead.
8. In the Specify Database Access Account section, type the user name and
password to use to connect to SQL Server, and then click Next.
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Postby guest » Wed Apr 30, 2008 8:03 pm

Before we go further, I would like to confirm with if the other 6 server
are involved in the WSS V2 farm. If yes, before clicking the OK button on
the first server, you need also to run the WSS V3 setup on other servers in
the WSS V2 farm. If no WSS V2 installed on the other 6 servers, you don't
need to run the WSS V3 setup on those servers.

------------------------------------
This message appears notifying you that if you have a server farm with
multiple servers, you must run setup on each server to install new binary
files before continuing the configuration wizard. Depending on your server
farm configuration, and where you are in the process of installing and
configuring Windows SharePoint Services 3.0, you have three choices:

o If this is the only server in your farm, no other actions are necessary.
Click OK to continue with the wizard.

o If you have other servers in your farm, and you have not yet run setup
and the configuration wizard on the other servers, leave this message open
on this server, and then run setup and the configuration wizard on the
other servers in the farm. When all of the other servers are at this same
stage, you can return to the front-end Web server and click OK to continue
with the SharePoint Products and Technologies Configuration Wizard.

o If you have already run setup and the configuration wizard on all servers
in your server farm and they are all at this stage, on a front-end Web
server, click OK to continue with the configuration wizard.
------------------------------------

For more information, please see the section "Run the SharePoint Products
and Technologies Configuration wizard" in the article below:

Install and configure Windows SharePoint Services for an in-place upgrade
http://technet2.microsoft.com/windowsse ... 3-718c-418
3-af99-a5f309010fe61033.mspx

If there are several servers in the WSS V2 farm, I would recommend you
consider the gradual upgrade option during the upgrade process:

- Uninstall WSS 3.0 from all the WFE.
- Then create a new config DB from WSS 2.0 central admin page.
- Then create a new Virtual site in IIS.
- Then extend and create a new WSS 2.0 site.
- Then remove the newly created content DB and attach the old content DB.
- Then on other WFE create a new Virtual server is IIS.
- Then extend and map to the existing DB.
- Once we make sure that we can browse the WSS 2.0 site.
- Then install WSS 3.0 on one of the WFE and select Gradual upgrade

The steps above is still recommended to be performed if you only have one
server running WSS V2.

Here is a link for your reference to perform a gradual upgrade for WSS V2:
Install and configure Windows SharePoint Services for a gradual upgrade
http://technet2.microsoft.com/windowsse ... 8-771a-449
1-91ed-f8a4bb07f4c21033.mspx?mfr=true
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Postby guest » Wed Apr 30, 2008 8:04 pm

OK, I found one of SBS is running WSS v2. So we need to install WSS 3 on the
SBS and then run WSS configuration wizard on both servers. Right? I haven't
got Ok from my client. Can we disable WSS v2 on SBS or remove it if for some
reasons he doesn't want to install WSS v3?
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Postby guest » Wed Apr 30, 2008 8:05 pm

Based on the information, I regret to say that it is not supported to do
the in-place upgrade from the companyweb which is WSS V2 to WSS V3.

However, you can consider to install WSS V3 side by side. We have a white
paper on how to do it and I have listed it below for your reference.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... efff-4f5b-
a28a-8265f1e99f5b&displaylang=en
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm


Return to Networking

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests