Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

black screen on windows xp boot

Active Directory, Domain, DNS, WINS, DHCP, SBS, New Releases.

black screen on windows xp boot

Postby blin » Mon Aug 25, 2008 11:24 am

Siutation: The client just formatted his computer and then re-install the XP with SP2. Now, he can't restart the windows. The Windows screen shows for seconds and then goes to black.

Troubleshooting: 1. We found he has a external Hard Disk connecting to the XP. Unplug the External HD, it works as normal.

2. Alternativelly, we can go to the BIOS to disable the legacy USB storage detect.
How to Configure and Troubleshoot Cisco
http://www.howtocisco.com

Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com
blin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3609
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Chicago, USA

Postby blin » Mon Aug 25, 2008 11:30 am

We had a case like this one. I don't have legacy USB storage detect in BIOS.Then I disable boot from USB that fixed the problem.
How to Configure and Troubleshoot Cisco
http://www.howtocisco.com

Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com
blin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3609
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Chicago, USA

Postby blin » Mon Aug 25, 2008 11:33 am

Well, I'm having this exact same problem.

I just plugged in a replacment graphics card that i recieved from my computer company. Needless to say, its not working the way it should be. I get everything fine up to the windows logon screen (which happens to be distorted) and then blackness. Then eventually a memory dump. Safe mode wont work.

The only solution i have found for my situation is replacing the old graphics card, which doesnt work right (no 3d) but well enought to do what i NEED to do.

clearly this wont help you specifically, but it does mean that it is not necessarily a software problem. The problem may be in some of your hardware.
How to Configure and Troubleshoot Cisco
http://www.howtocisco.com

Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com
blin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3609
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Chicago, USA

Postby blin » Mon Aug 25, 2008 11:34 am

I actually found a fix

take out your agp nvidia card and place an ati agp card. go into the bios and set the primary graphic adapter to pci. your computer should now boot with a display. go to the run command and type regedit search for nvidia, riva, rivatuner , and the name of your nvidia cards manufacturer. delete everything pertaining to these searches. using the normal search feature search for everything related to nvidia.riva,rivatuner and the name of your nvidia cards manufacturer. next aquire the latest version of the driver for your nvidia card and attempt to install it. it will say no card found compatible but thats ok. exit out and go to the root of your hard drive and find a folder called nvidia search inside the folder/folders to find setup.exe or install.exe make a shortcut of this and place it on the desktop rename this shortcut with a letter that apon pressing it goes to the shortcut on first key press. shut down the computer and take out the ati card put back in the nvidia card and turn on your computer. allow it to fully boot type in your password if you have one and press enter allow the computer to fully boot then move your mouse a bit to make sure its on the desktop and press the key you named the shortcut press enter twice quickly wait until the hard drive stops clicking and then press n an wait until the hard drive stops clicking and push the arrow key up once and press enter. your computer should reboot if not just wait a few minutes to make sure its not just taking a while and then pull the power cord. put the power plug back in and if you successfully reinstalled the driver you should boot with a display! if not try again as you messed up somewhere installing the driver.
How to Configure and Troubleshoot Cisco
http://www.howtocisco.com

Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com
blin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3609
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Chicago, USA

Postby blin » Mon Aug 25, 2008 11:35 am

OK... I realize this may a be a bit late for you, but for anyone else who's had a similar problem here's something I'm wrestling with. My PC does the same thing, but the problem lies within my secondary hard drive. When I disconnected the secondary hard drive, Windows booted up just fine. I have yet to scan the drive and try to recover anything from it... but yeah... if you have a secondary hard drive and this is happening to you. Try disconnecting it.
How to Configure and Troubleshoot Cisco
http://www.howtocisco.com

Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com
blin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3609
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Chicago, USA

Postby blin » Mon Aug 25, 2008 11:36 am

The secondary HD was my problem too. Problem was, I didn't know it, so, instead of turning that off & restarting, I went through the whole recovery thing. Then remembered that I had backed up my photos the day before, just in case something happened to my HD & I lost them.:oops:

Every cloud has a silver lining--my photo deluxe works better now!
How to Configure and Troubleshoot Cisco
http://www.howtocisco.com

Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com
blin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3609
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Chicago, USA


Return to Windows

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests