Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

WPC54C wireless doesn't work after installing XP sp3

Wi-Fi, Mobile phone.

WPC54C wireless doesn't work after installing XP sp3

Postby chicagotech » Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:43 am

I have a WPC54G v4 wireless notebook adapter. I'm useing the latested driver 1.22.1.2004. I installed SP3 to XP Home, and the adapter connect to my network. I uninstalled SP3 and the adapter is working again. Is there a fix for Win XP SP3?
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:45 am

I was having the same problems (no/spotty connectivity) described here by other folks who have upgraded to SP3. When I booted SP3 for the first time I noticed a crash in the linksys software and just moved passed it. That was the start of the problems.

I just now uninstalled the driver from the device manager and then the remaining software from the Add/Remove software control panel and reinstalled the driver from scratch. This forces a rebuild of the network stack for the linksys adapter. Everything seems to be working great now.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:45 am

Will the card connect to unencrypted wi-fi networks? Is the problem just with encrypted wi-fi networks?

Was a Norton product present on the PC while SP3 was applied? If so, you might like to try uninstalling Norton, and then using the official "Norton Removal Tool" to clean up the registry afterwards. This might restore network connectivity in some obscure cases. You can re-instal Norton after checking this.

Applying SP3 will re-enable the Windows Firewall if it was previously disabled (e.g. because you had a third-party firewall installed). You might now need to again disable Windows Firewall if this was the case.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:45 am

Hi Thanks for trying with Xp-Sp3..

Could you please tell us the status of the wzcsvc service when you start the machine.. You can get the service status by running "sc query wzcsvc" on a command prompt..

Regards,

Sunil

[MSFT]
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:48 am

The result of the query is as follows:



SERVICE_NAME: wzcsvc

TYPE: 20 WIN32_SHARE_PROCESS

STATE: 4 RUNNING <STOPPABLE>

WIN32_EXIT_CODE: 0 <0x0>

SERVICE_EXIT_CODE: 0 <0x0>

CHECKPOINT: 0x0

WAIT_HINT: 0x0
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:48 am

Not to sound condisending but have you tried to reinstall your wireless device? Re-installation or getting an updated driver from the vendor may fix your problem. Let us know.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:48 am

The problem is definately with the encrypted network. I changed the setting on my router (Linksys WRT54GS) from WPA-PSK to unencrypted, and my wireless card connected right away. However, I do not like leaving my network open like this, so do you have any suggestions?



BTW: There is no Norton product installed on the machine, and Windows Firewall is still off. I have Windows XP Home (now SP3), Sygate Personal Firewall (Ver. 5.6 build 2808), and AVG Antivirus (Ver. 8.0.100)
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:49 am

Eveing Microsoft posted this fix for sharing network connections. Might or might not help you out with your sharing problem. *If sp3 is on your source for the internet*


http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en

Hopefully this helps

Keith
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:50 am

Could you please provide us the network logs to analyse the issue..

Please follow the below steps to get the logs:



o Remove the %WINDIR%\tracing folder (if already present) .. If you are not able to remove it then run the command “netsh ras set tracing * disabled” in a command prompt and then try.

o Run the command "netsh ras set tracing * enabled" in a command shell

o Repro the issue

o Run the command "netsh ras set tracing * disabled" in a command shell

o The logs will be at %WINDIR%\tracing folder.

Please note you need to have the administrator rights on the computer to get the logs..
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:50 am

Everyone having difficulty with their wireless connection should try running the SymRegFix tool with the /override option. See the second post in the thread http://forums.microsoft.com/TechNet/Sho ... &SiteID=17
for details.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:51 am

I downloaded and ran the tool as per the instructions in the post using the /override option, and the tool reported that there were no invalid registry keys.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:51 am

SP3 included the implimentation of WPA2/WPS IE as one of the fixes included. My router firware offers encryption support for the following:

WPA Personal (used previously with SP2)

WPA Enterprise

WPA2 Personal

WPA2 Enterprise

RADIUS

WEP

However, the WLAN monitor used by the adpter only offers support for the following:

WEP

WPA-PSK (used previously with SP2)

WPA-RADIUS

RADIUS

Could the implimentation of WPA2 by SP3 cuse the problem I am experiencing?

NOTE: I have tried both flavors of WPA with both the WLAN monitor and XP WZC.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:53 am

I deleted the CBTNDIS5.sys file, and attempted to connect wirelessly with WPA enabled, but it was no good. I did some web research on that file and everyone who also had a problem with that file, also had a Linksys WPC54G wireless card, so I surmised that that the application associated with it was the wireless configuration application supplied by Linksys. I uninstalled the application, rebooted, and attempted connection, but it was still no good. The chip on this Linksys card was supplied by Inprocomm, so I searched for drivers from that manufacturer, rather than Linksys. I was able to find newer drivers supplied by PackardBell for the Inprocomm IPN2220 chipset (version 3.3.11.2004 with driver date 11/4/2004) than Linksys is supplying on the PackardBell website. I installed this driver and made sure I could connect unencrypted. I then removed all other software, and driver files left on my computer from Linksys, and rebooted. At this point, I had to re-install the IPN2220 drivers I got from PackardBell as Hardware Manager kindly informed me that they were not installed. After re-installation, and re-boot, I was able to connect unencrypted, so I attempted to enable WPA. Using WPA-PSK, with the TKIP algorithm, I was able to enable the encryption on the router and successfully connect to the network, and Internet, and have been for about 3 days now. I will consider this a success, and resolution to my issue.

Link to the driver:

http://support.packardbell.com/uk/item/ ... tform_ED1N

My recommendation for anyone else experiencing this problem is to get a newer wireless card from whichever vendor they prefer, but make sure it is NOT based on this (or any) Inprocomm chipset, as Inprocomm no longer exists, and updated drivers, unless written by the computer manufacturer are not available. I will be looking for a newer card myself.

Thanks to everyone who has helped with this issue.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:54 am

I had the same problem, only with the Linksys WMP54G adapter. I installed SP3 and could no longer connect to a wireless network with encryption enabled. If I disabled encryption I could connect. Even though this thread concerns the WPC54G, out of pure desperation I tried that Packerd Bell driver that IrisJim68 linked up instead of the Linksys driver and it worked. I can now connect to my Linksys router swimmingly with WPA-2 encryption enabled.

So is either something is wacky with SP3, or Linksys needs to create a new set of drivers for XP SP3.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:56 am

I was finally able to solve my problem by changing the security settings from WEP to WPA-PSK & TKIP on my router as well as the wireless adapter.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6920
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Next

Return to Wireless

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests