Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Can't access after XP SP3 because Local Security Settings

Permissions, Group Policy, IPSec, Virus, Spam, Spyware, Malware.

Can't access after XP SP3 because Local Security Settings

Postby chicagotech » Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:49 pm

Thank you for the update.

--
Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on
http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on
http://www.HowToNetworking.com

> Robert:
> I GOT IT!!!!
> I went through the Local Security Settings and checked the "Access this
> computer from the network". Both laptops were missing, (I still believe this
> happened with some of the MS Win XP updates I added this past week. Why else
> would both laptops suddenly not be there.) so I added one laptop to the
> desktop PC setting and voila! I could see the desktop, add printers, and
> print. Looks to be okay now.
> I re-booted the desktop and laptop PC's and they still communicated just fine.
> Thanks for your help, and maybe this post might help someone else as well.
>
> "Luther393" wrote:
>
>> Robert:
>> First off, let me thank you for your help, time & patience...
>> I turned off all protection and can ping laptop-to-desktop and vice versa. I
>> could see the desktop, but not the printers. (I re-ran Net View on my laptop
>> with my desktop's name and received an "System Error 5, Access is denied",
>> but at least I could see it.)
>> I then started Counterspy and my firewalls one program at a time on one PC
>> at a time, pinging after each program was up and running. Worked both
>> directions each time. So now I have all security programs running and can
>> ping in both directions.
>> What's next?
>>
>> "Robert L. (MS-MVP)" wrote:
>>
>> > If you run correct command, the system error 53 could be firewall or
>> > connection issue. Can you ping the remote computer by IP?
>> >
>> > --
>> > Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
>> > Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on
>> > http://www.ChicagoTech.net
>> > How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on
>> > http://www.HowToNetworking.com

>> > > Yes, and I rec'd the same "Syntax error 53 has occurred. The network path
>> > > is
>> > > not found".
>> > >
>> > > "Robert L. (MS-MVP)" wrote:
>> > >
>> > >> Have you replaced desktopipaddress with the real Desktop IP address?
>> > >>
>> > >> --
>> > >> Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
>> > >> Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on
>> > >> http://www.ChicagoTech.net
>> > >> How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on
>> > >> http://www.HowToNetworking.com

>> > >> > Robert:
>> > >> > I ran Net Share on the desktop, and here are the results.
>> > >> >
>> > >> > Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
>> > >> >
>> > >> > Share name Resource Remark
>> > >> > -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>> > >> > IPC$ Remote IPC
>> > >> > D$ D:\ Default share
>> > >> > print$ C:\WINDOWS\system32\spool\drivers
>> > >> > Printer Drivers
>> > >> > C$ C:\ Default share
>> > >> > ADMIN$ C:\WINDOWS Remote Admin
>> > >> > SharedDocs C:\DOCUMENTS AND SETTINGS\ALL USERS\DOCUMENTS
>> > >> >
>> > >> > Brother HL-5150D Laser
>> > >> > USB001 Spooled Brother HL-5150D Laser
>> > >> > Canon iP4200 Color
>> > >> > USB002 Spooled Canon iP4200
>> > >> > Printer FaxModem (Photo Qualit Spooled Print to this device to
>> > >> > send
>> > >> > a
>> > >> > pho
>> > >> > Printer11 Microsoft Document Ima Spooled Microsoft Office Document
>> > >> > Image
>> > >> > Wr
>> > >> > Printer2 FaxModem Spooled Print to this device to
>> > >> > send
>> > >> > a
>> > >> > fax
>> > >> > Printer3 DocuCom PDF Port: Spooled ScanSoft PDF Create!
>> > >> > Printer4 Nuance Image Printer W Spooled PaperPort Image Printer
>> > >> > Printer7 DocuCom PDF Port: Spooled DocuCom PDF Driver
>> > >> > The command completed successfully.
>> > >> >
>> > >> > When I tried running Net View \\desktopipaddress on the laptop it
>> > >> > simply
>> > >> > said "Syntax error 53 has occurred. Then network path is not found"
>> > >> > I tried the command with space\, no space with \ and \\ but nothing
>> > >> > helped.
>> > >> > These were with the firewall disabled. I also tried it with the
>> > >> > physical
>> > >> > IP
>> > >> > address for the desktop. No go...
>> > >> >
>> > >> > Hope this info helps you see something that I'm missing.
>> > >> >
>> > >> > Regards
>> > >> >
>> > >> > "Robert L. (MS-MVP)" wrote:
>> > >> >
>> > >> >> On the desktop, run net share and on the remote computer run net view
>> > >> >> \\desktopipaddress. Compare the results or post back here.
>> > >> >>
>> > >> >> --
>> > >> >> Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
>> > >> >> Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on
>> > >> >> http://www.ChicagoTech.net
>> > >> >> How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on
>> > >> >> http://www.HowToNetworking.com

>> > >> >> > Robert:
>> > >> >> > Thanks for the tip.
>> > >> >> > I installed the SP-3 release several weeks back and things were
>> > >> >> > working
>> > >> >> > okay. I can connect to the internet with all 3 PC's; just can't
>> > >> >> > access
>> > >> >> > the
>> > >> >> > printers on my desktop from the wireless laptops. BTW, I temporarily
>> > >> >> > disabled
>> > >> >> > all security, firewalls, MAC address filtering (router), etc., all
>> > >> >> > w/o
>> > >> >> > success.
>> > >> >> > If only this forest wasn't in the way I could see the trees.
>> > >> >> > Regards
>> > >> >> >
>> > >> >> > "Robert L. (MS-MVP)" wrote:
>> > >> >> >
>> > >> >> >> We have see some security software doesn't work woth XP SP3. You
>> > >> >> >> may
>> > >> >> >> try
>> > >> >> >> clean boot for troubleshooting.
>> > >> >> >>
>> > >> >> >> XP SP3 Issues
XP SP3 Issues. 1. We have received some reports that
>> > >> >> >> some
>> > >> >> >> security software may not work after install XP SP3. You may want
>> > >> >> >> to
>> > >> >> >> check
>> > >> >> >> there is a new update ...
>> > >> >> >> www.chicagotech.net/Windows/xpsp3.htm
>> > >> >> >>
>> > >> >> >>
>> > >> >> >> --
>> > >> >> >> Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
>> > >> >> >> Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on
>> > >> >> >> http://www.ChicagoTech.net
>> > >> >> >> How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on
>> > >> >> >> http://www.HowToNetworking.com

>> > >> >> >> >I setup a wireless network at home using a wired desktop & two (2)
>> > >> >> >> >wireless
>> > >> >> >> > laptop pc's, 802.11g. The desktop is connected to the internet
>> > >> >> >> > via
>> > >> >> >> > an
>> > >> >> >> > Ethernet cable to a MyEssentials wireless router & then through a
>> > >> >> >> > Linksys
>> > >> >> >> > CM100 cable modem. I have a Brother laser and a Canon Color
>> > >> >> >> > Inkjet
>> > >> >> >> > printers
>> > >> >> >> > connected to the desktop via USB ports.
>> > >> >> >> > I'm using Panda I.S. 2008 (v12.00), CounterSpy (v2.5), and the
>> > >> >> >> > Windows
>> > >> >> >> > firewall is turned off on all three PC's. I'm running Windows XP
>> > >> >> >> > Pro
>> > >> >> >> > SP-3
>> > >> >> >> > on
>> > >> >> >> > all three PC's, but only the desktop and one laptop have the
>> > >> >> >> > October
>> > >> >> >> > MS
>> > >> >> >> > updates. The other laptop hasn't received the October MS updates
>> > >> >> >> > yet.
>> > >> >> >> > When the wireless network was first setup many months ago I was
>> > >> >> >> > able
>> > >> >> >> > to
>> > >> >> >> > print using all three pc's. I just noticed this printing problem
>> > >> >> >> > on
>> > >> >> >> > Thursday
>> > >> >> >> > (10/17) when I couldn't print from one of the laptops. Same thing
>> > >> >> >> > with
>> > >> >> >> > the
>> > >> >> >> > other laptop that hasn't been updated nor used in the past 1-2
>> > >> >> >> > weeks.
>> > >> >> >> > (I
>> > >> >> >> > believe I have it narrowed down to the desktop PC based on that
>> > >> >> >> > laptop.) I
>> > >> >> >> > can now print only from the desktop PC & under ''Printers &
>> > >> >> >> > Faxes''
>> > >> >> >> > in
>> > >> >> >> > ''Control Panel'' of my laptops I still have the printers: but
>> > >> >> >> > when
>> > >> >> >> > I
>> > >> >> >> > try
>> > >> >> >> > to
>> > >> >> >> > access them I get a "Spooler not running" error message. I
>> > >> >> >> > verified
>> > >> >> >> > that
>> > >> >> >> > spooler was started but this didn't help. I also reinstalled
>> > >> >> >> > SP-3,
>> > >> >> >> > and
>> > >> >> >> > NetBios, and tried using NetBios config for the connection - no
>> > >> >> >> > luck.
>> > >> >> >> > I felt certain it was a firewall issue, so I shutdown Panda &
>> > >> >> >> > CounterSpy,
>> > >> >> >> > on
>> > >> >> >> > both PC's and the firewall on the router. I could ping from
>> > >> >> >> > desktop-to-laptop
>> > >> >> >> > and vice versa. I then tried to add a printer on the laptop: I
>> > >> >> >> > could
>> > >> >> >> > see
>> > >> >> >> > the
>> > >> >> >> > desktop PC but still no printers were shown.
>> > >> >> >> > (I'm not 100% certain, but I believe this problem started after
>> > >> >> >> > the
>> > >> >> >> > latest
>> > >> >> >> > Windows updates I installed this past Tuesday or Wednesday. I do
>> > >> >> >> > know
>> > >> >> >> > that
>> > >> >> >> > my
>> > >> >> >> > wife printed several pages from the same laptop I'm working on
>> > >> >> >> > now
>> > >> >> >> > this
>> > >> >> >> > past
>> > >> >> >> > Sunday (10/12/08) w/o a problem.)
>> > >> >> >> > Any thoughts, ideas, suggestions, or prayers are truly welcome.
>> > >> >> >> > I'm
>> > >> >> >> > totally
>> > >> >> >> > stumped, but I truly believe it's something really simple and
>> > >> >> >> > stupid
>> > >> >> >> > that
>> > >> >> >> > I'm
>> > >> >> >> > just overlooking.
>> > >> >> >> > Regards

>> >
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6873
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Oct 21, 2008 11:13 pm

I forgot to add this... I also changed the "Network Access: Sharing and
security model for local accounts" setting to Classic - local users
authenticate as themselves.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6873
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA


Return to Security

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests