Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Can't access the network because of Norton

Permissions, Group Policy, IPSec, Virus, Spam, Spyware, Malware.

Can't access the network because of Norton

Postby chicagotech » Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:24 am

Thank you for the update.

--
Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on
http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on
http://www.HowToNetworking.com


> Dear Robert L.
>
> Refer to another post, I download and run the "Norton_Removal_Tool".
> The problem have been fixed immediately.
>
>
> Thanks !
>
>
> Po
>
> "Robert L. (MS-MVP)" wrote:
>
>> We need more information to help. Posting the result of ipconfig /all may
>> help.
>>
>> --
>> Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
>> Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on
>> http://www.ChicagoTech.net
>> How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on
>> http://www.HowToNetworking.com

>> > Recently, I have a new compact desktop that running Vista Home Basic and
>> > it
>> > can access Windows 2003 server and Internet at head office. But it cannot
>> > access to the web page and Win2003 server when it had been relocated to
>> > another office.It shown "cannot found the host / web page". I cannot ping
>> > to
>> > any true IP except the true IP of ther router but it can updated the
>> > antivirus definition via Internet. Also, other PCs can access the server
>> > and
>> > internet as normal at this moment.
>> >
>> > The problem have been fixed when restore the OS to factory setting.
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> > After a few day, I have a compact notebook that running Vista Home
>> > Preminum
>> > and it works as normal before. The notebook cannot to access the web page
>> > and
>> > cannot ping to any true IP except the true IP of ther router but it can
>> > updated the antivirus definition iva Internet and access to the Windows
>> > 2003
>> > server. I tried to access the web page via wireless LAN but it still
>> > failure.
>> >
>> >
>> > I had installed the Symantec Antivirus coporate version before this issue
>> > and uninstalled finally.
>> > Anybody can help me to solve the problem ? Is it caused by Virus or some
>> > bug
>> > in Vista or Compac Vista ??
>> >

>> > Thanks a million
>> >
>> > Po
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6990
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby guest » Sun Dec 14, 2008 8:45 pm

EVERYONE, STOP!!!! I just called Toshiba, because I was about ready to
THROW my new laptop, due to serious frustration. I didn't have to.
After reading through a gazillion forums, I found out that it's NORTON
that generally messes up internet connections (both wired and wireless,
because I couldn't connect using EITHER), when you're uninstalling it.
Not only did it lag and lock up at the end of the uninstall, but even
using task manager to end task on the uninstall to "unlag" it, nothing
was working.

Was up LATE last night working on it (for about 6 or 7 hours) and got
up at 5 a.m. to try again. It's not 12:50 p.m., and FINALLY, FINALLY
it's working again. Most SIMPLE FIX TOO!!!!!! All you need to do (if
you had ANY type of Symantec product on your computer, before, during or
after this issue), just do a google search for norton uninstall tool,
and download it for your proper version of Windows. Seriously. I did
this last night too, but then did a system restore AFTER that, and lo
and behold, the system restore put it BACK in my add/remove program
list, yet it wasn't installed, and also put their firewall back up,
etc..

Trust me on this. After about 19 hours of working on this thing, I
finally did it AGAIN as a last resort (put the file on a usb drive and
used that to transfer it to my non-internet connected computer) and when
I rebooted, I'm BACK ONLINE!!!!!

God Bless You all, and please just download the Norton Uninstall Tool
to correct this terrible, really lousy and stupid "fluke" that's
installed with Vista and Norton. :)
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm


Return to Security

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests