Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

VPN error code 828

RRAS, VPN, TS/RDP, Routing and remote Access.

VPN error code 828

Postby guest » Sun Nov 02, 2008 5:47 pm

when computer B was trying to establish VPN connection
with VPN server, it stopped at "Verifying user name and password." And got
error code 828.

VPN error code 828 means:
This error occurs when the connection has been disconnected because the
remote user's remote access session has been idle for a period of time
greater than the idle timeout setting. This also results in the generation
of event ROUTERLOG_CLIENT_AUTODISCONNECT. The timer can be configured on
the client computer and on the server running NPS.

Please see this article about Event ID 20226 - RAS Connection Termination
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/libr ... 73767.aspx

Troubleshoot:
=============
1. Please set the VPN connection time out value as Never on client:
1) On computer B, right click VPN connection
2) Properties -> Options
3) Idle time before hanging up, change it to "never"

2. Please add computer B to the same group of computer A, and make sure
RRAS server apply the same policy to both of them.
If you are not clear about how to configure remote access policy, please
feel free to let me know.

If VPN settings and remote access policies are not the cause, we need to
check if the problem is with the user or computer.

3. Use computer A user credential to connect VPN on computer B. But you
need to ensure VPN on computer B allows other users to connect.

If computer A user also have the same issue on computer B, please check
network connection between computer B and VPN server.

4. Ping VPN server from computer B.

5. If ping can work, please re-establish VPN connection by using IP address
of VPN server.
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Postby guest » Sun Nov 02, 2008 5:47 pm

We know for certain that it's a computer issue, not a user issue. That said,
I have an idea but am not sure how to proceed. Computer B is not a member of
the domain (which of course prevents me from making it a member of the same
computer group as Computer A). Can you tell me what I need to do on the
network so the non-domain computer can access the VPN with appropriate user
credentials?
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Postby guest » Sun Nov 02, 2008 5:48 pm

I want to confirm if your VPN server is in a domain but VPN client is not
in this domain.

If you want to make a non-domain computer access VPN, you need to do so:
1) Create a user, and allow dial-in on VPN server.
a) If the VPN server is not in a domain, in User and Group, right click a
user, on Dial-in tab, choose Allow Dial-in;
b) If the VPN server is in a domain, in AD User and Computer, right click a
user, on Dial-in tab, choose Allow Dial-in.

2) On VPN server, check Remote Access policies, and make sure this user
account is not blocked.

3) On VPN client, establish a VPN connection with this user account.
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm


Return to VPN, TS and Remote Access

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests