Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Wireless network not saved

Wi-Fi, Mobile phone.

Wireless network not saved

Postby Klaatu » Fri Dec 26, 2008 5:47 pm

All of sudden, Vista won't save my wireless network auto log on.

After every boot, I have to choose my wireless network despite checking "Save this network" and "Start this connection automatically."
Image

This happened seemingly out of nowhere after months of being able to connect automatically.

On another forum, someone suggested WLAN AutoConfig, the service that manages wireless profiles, must be started and has to have Startup type Automatic. It was already started and set to automatic.

Also Downloaded and installed latest driver and software from Intel's site:
Image

Any kind soul know of a fix? Thanks.
Compaq Presario 5716 (98], Dell Dimension 4700 (XP), Lenovo ThinkPad R61i (Vista).
Klaatu
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:58 pm

Postby blin » Sat Dec 27, 2008 10:47 am

For troubleshooting, please try to start the computer with clean boot. Please post back with the result.
How to Configure and Troubleshoot Cisco
http://www.howtocisco.com

Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com
blin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3618
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Chicago, USA

Postby guest » Mon Dec 29, 2008 10:53 am

This issue can be caused by corrupt user profile or software conflicts.
Based on the current situation, I suggest we perform the following steps to
troubleshoot the issue.

Step 1: Create a new user profile.
=========
If the user profile is corrupt, the wireless network profiles may not be
saved properly. At this point, I suggest we create a new user profile and
check whether this issue persists in this new account.

1/ Click the Start button
2/ From the Start menu, Click the Control Panel option
3/ In the Control panel window, Click the User Account icon
4/ The user Account window will now open
5/ In the 'Make changes to your account' list of options, Click Manage
another account

6/ User Account Control will now kick in and will ask permission for you to
continue. If you are the Administrator then simply Click the Continue
button. If you are not the Administrator then you will need to obtain, from
the administrator, the user name and password before you can continue.

7/ The Choose the Account you would like to change window will now open.
8/ Click the Create New Account option
9/ The 'Name the account and choose an account type' window now opens
10/ Type the name of the new account in the name dialogue box.
11/ Now select the Type of account you want. Please select Administrator.
12/ Click the Create Account button

Restart the computer and check whether this issue persists in this new user
profile. If it persists, I suggest we perform a SFC to troubleshoot the
issue.

Step 2: SFC
=====
1. Insert the Windows Vista installation DVD into the DVD-ROM; Click Exit
if the auto-menu pops up.
2. Open an elevated command prompt. To do this, click Start, click All
Programs, click Accessories, right-click Command Prompt, and then click Run
as administrator.

If you are prompted for an administrator password or for a confirmation,
type the password, or click Allow.

3. At the command prompt, type the following command, and then press
ENTER:

sfc /scannow

Some Windows Vista functions may not work, or Windows Vista may stop
responding
<http://support.microsoft.com//kb/929833>

If this issue is still not resolved, let's perform a Clean Boot to
troubleshoot the issue.

Step 3: Clean Boot
=======================================
1. Click the Start Button, type MSCONFIG in the Search Bar and Press Enter
to start the System Configuration Utility.

Note: Please click the Continue if the "User Account Control" window pops
up.

2. Click the Services tab, check the "Hide All Microsoft Services" box and
click Disable All (if it is not gray).

3. Click the Startup tab, click Disable All and click OK.

4. Restart the computer and test the issue.

Note: Clean Boot is just a troubleshooting step. If some programs have been
disabled, we can enable them later on. If you see the System Configuration
Utility, check the box of "Don't show this message" and then click OK.
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Postby Klaatu » Tue Dec 30, 2008 5:16 pm

Regarding guest's suggestions:
1) Created a new user profile but the issue persisted.
2) Ran sfc /scannow but it found no errors:
Image
3) Ran MSCONFIG suggestion and did Clean Boot but issue still persisted.

On other forums, a corrupted wireless profile has been suggested since even after checking "Save this network" and "Start this connection automatically," no profiles appear in Network & Sharing>Manage Wireless Networks:
Image

Since no profiles appear in my wireless networks, how do delete the corrupted wireless profile and build a new one?

Also found a web posting that Microsoft offers a hotfix http://support.microsoft.com/kb/932063 that purports to solve my issue (Symptom 4, Every time that you roam to a different wireless access point, you are prompted to provide a user credential. This problem occurs even if you have saved the user credential.) but I'm reluctant to install due to possibility that it may not solve problem and un installation.
Compaq Presario 5716 (98], Dell Dimension 4700 (XP), Lenovo ThinkPad R61i (Vista).
Klaatu
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:58 pm

Postby chicagotech » Tue Dec 30, 2008 5:36 pm

Please help us collect the following information for further research.

MPS Report (PFE version)
=================
1. On the Vista machine, download MPSReport tool from below URL
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... 720f-4441-
9ef6-ea9f657b5c2f&DisplayLang=en
2. Right click the tool and then choose Run as administrator, and if you
are prompted "Include the MSINFO32 report?", please type Y.
3. Please send the result file (CAB file) found to chicagotech.net@xxxx (replace xxxx with gmail.com).
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6854
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby guest » Wed Dec 31, 2008 10:12 am

Since no profiles appear in Network & Sharing>Manage Wireless Networks, it can be caused by corrupted wireless profiles. At this point, I suggest you perform the wireless profile re-creation. This how to may help.

How to re-create corrupted wireless profile
http://www.wifimvp.com/howto/wczprofile1.htm
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Postby Klaatu » Wed Dec 31, 2008 6:49 pm

guest wrote:Since no profiles appear in Network & Sharing>Manage Wireless Networks, it can be caused by corrupted wireless profiles. At this point, I suggest you perform the wireless profile re-creation. This how to may help.

How to re-create corrupted wireless profile
http://www.wifimvp.com/howto/wczprofile1.htm


Couldn't find wzcsvc service and also couldn't find wzcsvc.dll. there is no net zero configuration in vista. Wireless Zero Configuration was first introduced with Windows XP. In Windows Vista it was renamed to "WLAN AutoConfig".

Think "WLAN AutoConfig" service is the issue here?

On another forum I posted this issue in, someone claimed they did a rollback that solved a similar problem to mine. And on the link mentioned above, it's stated that sometimes windows update installs drivers that don't work as well as ones that came with the hardware. And I've been quite thorough in updating my system through the windows update function. Thing is, as mentioned in my original post, I did recently install latest card driver from Intel's site but that still didn't solve the problem.

Issue appears boiled down to three items: corrupted wireless profile, "WLAN AutoConfig" service, and the card driver.
Compaq Presario 5716 (98], Dell Dimension 4700 (XP), Lenovo ThinkPad R61i (Vista).
Klaatu
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:58 pm

Postby guest » Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:47 am

I am sorry I regard your OS as XP.

Yes, this issue can be caused by corrupt wireless profiles and WLAN AutoConfig service. At this point, we can perform some similar steps to troubleshoot the issue. Please refer to this how to: How to re-create corrupted wireless profile in Vista - http://www.wifimvp.com/howto/wczprofile2.htm.

This issue can also be caused by hardware driver. Therefore, we can also perform a System Restore to troubleshoot the issue. You can restore to a point before this issue
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Postby Klaatu » Fri Jan 02, 2009 6:37 pm

guest wrote:Please refer to this how to: How to re-create corrupted wireless profile in Vista - http://www.wifimvp.com/howto/wczprofile2.htm.


Tried:
How to re-create corrupted wireless profile in Vista
1. Stop the WLAN AutoConfig service
2. Delete subkeys under the following key. Note: before deleting the subkeys, please first back up the key in case we need to restore it in the future.
HKLM/Software/Microsoft/WLANSVC
3. Restart the WLAN AutoConfig service.
4. Restart the computer. Re-create the wireless profile again and then check the results.

But this didn't work - no profile saved and none appear in Network & Sharing>Manage Wireless Networks even after checking "Save this network" and "Start this connection automatically."

I have a backup of my registry before this problem happened. If I merge it, I'm thinking that it'll correct my corrupt wireless profile problem but I'll lose all of my settings since the date of the backup, correct? Please excuse my ignorance. Thanks.
Compaq Presario 5716 (98], Dell Dimension 4700 (XP), Lenovo ThinkPad R61i (Vista).
Klaatu
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:58 pm

Postby guest » Mon Jan 05, 2009 10:30 am

Yes, after merging your registry, this issue may be resolved but some of your settings will disappear
We do not need to merge all of the registry. We only need the following part of the registry:

HKLM/Software/Microsoft/WLANSVC



Therefore, please edit your saved registry, copy the key above and all its sub keys to the notepad with "Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00" at the top. See the following example. (without ***********************************)



***********************************

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00



[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\WLANSVC]



………………………………………………………

………………………………………………………

………………………………………………………



************************************



Save it as a reg file. Then, double click it to merge it.
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Postby Klaatu » Mon Jan 05, 2009 12:18 pm

You're probably right about merging only HKLM/Software/Microsoft/WLANSVC but yesterday, simply rolled-back my system by installing a disk image from a time when my system was fine and that worked. Data and settings since backup were lost but Wireless Network Profile saving and auto-connection have returned.

Acronis TI finally came in handy. If anything, this was a lesson that image backups are not a waste of time. Wish only that I'd also done incrementals.

Much thanks for contributions.
Compaq Presario 5716 (98], Dell Dimension 4700 (XP), Lenovo ThinkPad R61i (Vista).
Klaatu
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:58 pm


Return to Wireless

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests