Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Remote Desktop Freezes on Logon

RRAS, VPN, TS/RDP, Routing and remote Access.

Remote Desktop Freezes on Logon

Postby chicagotech » Thu Feb 19, 2009 1:30 pm

I have seen a case like this one. I think it is roaming profile or group policy. For test it, create a user without group policy or roaming profile applied to it.

--
Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on
http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on
http://www.HowToNetworking.com

> We have just set up 6 new Lenovo x200 Notebooks running WinXP SP3 and all
> latest updates.
>
> Just attached to a newly set up Win 2008 Server on Active Directory. When we
> try to access laptop using RD, if the session is logged on already and RD
> takes over the session, it works fine. The problem is if the user is not
> already logged in to the notebook. When you try to access via RD the
> following happens:
>
> 1. RD gets to login screen
> 2. After entering credential and clicking OK, the RD session freezes and
> just displays the grayed out logon screen as if its trying to log in.
> 3. The remote Notebook screen blacks out.
> 4. After around 30 secs, RD reverts to the login screen but when you click
> cancel, it doesn’t close the session window as you would expect.
> 5. The remote machine reverts to the logon screen but if you then try to
> login, it hands with a clack screen and you have to hard reset it.
>
> The event viewer shows an event indicating that the “SessionLauncher failed
> to load for the following reason. The system cannot find the path specified”
>
> Not sure this is the problem as some of the machines do not record this
> event. But all 6 have the same problem.
>
> We are using roaming profiles but I have successfully run exactly this
> scenario elsewhere without problems.
>
> I’ve searched high and low but cannot find anything that relates to this
> specific issue. Any help would be much appreciated.
>
> James M B
>
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7148
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Sat Feb 21, 2009 10:11 am

Thanks

I thought about GP and had already tested after disabling all policies. But
it didn't help. I have been using GP and Roaming profiles for years without
problem and it does actually work fine on the desktops. Its just the
notebooks that have a problem. However, its fine if I remove the roaming
profile. But funnily enough, I had already tried logging in with RD using the
local admin account but perhaps I didn't reboot the machine first to clear it
before testing it so it wasn't a clean test.

Never really know. But thanks for the input. It focussed me back on checking
the roaming profiles which seem to be the cause. Not sure why it works fine
on other desktops but not on these new lenovo x200s. Perhaps it is something
to do with the bundled software installed on them!!
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7148
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA


Return to VPN, TS and Remote Access

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests