Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Can't access Project web access & showing different site

Network Sharing , TCP/IP, Internet, Wireless, Exchange, IIS, ISA and Print

Can't access Project web access & showing different site

Postby chicagotech » Tue Mar 03, 2009 12:02 pm

Situation: after installing Office Project Server 2007, the users can't access the project web site internally. When they try it, the web site redirect the company default web site. For example, the project web site is http://projectweb, redirecting to http://companyweb.

Troubleshooting: 1. Make sure you have DNS A record pointing to the project web site.

2. If, for some reasons, you have a DNS issue and want to use the IP address, we need to add URL mapping the IP address to the project web site.

To add internal URL, run SharePoint Central Administration, select Operations>Global Configuration>Alternative access mapping, click Add Internal URLs. If the Alternative Access Mapping Collection is "No selection", click on it and select Change Alternative Access Mapping Collection. Select the web site, for example, SharePoint - 80.

If the Alternative Access Mapping Collection points to SharePoint - 80, enter the URL protocol host port, for example http://192.168.10.6, select Intranet in the Zone.

3. If DNS doesn't have A record for Public URL in Zone, select Custom as Zone so that both the Internal URL and Public URL use the IP address.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7064
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:57 pm

In our case, we can run the project web site using the server name but other computers don't work. If we ping the server by name, it displays FQDN, for example ping companyweb, it displays companyweb.chicagotech.net.

The solution is add the FQDN to the Alternative Access Mapping.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7064
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Tue Mar 03, 2009 9:00 pm

Yes, I have the same problem. I can telnet the server IP port 80, but not access it using the IP. I found when I ping the server IP address, it displays the FQDN. Adding FQDN to the Alternative Access Mapping fixes it.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7064
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA


Return to Networking

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests