Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Vista - Wireless Issues

Wi-Fi, Mobile phone.

Vista - Wireless Issues

Postby Zoidberg » Sat May 26, 2007 12:35 pm

Hello,

First and foremost I want to say I have spent days reading through the stickied threads, hoping I could solve my problem...Unfortunately, I am posting because I still have a problem.

I have a HP dv2102us latop, and ever since I upgraded to Vista using the free discs they sent me in the mail, my wireless has been shot.

Here are some of the things I have been experiencing.

- The wireless would connect for spurts of time, and then just die.
- The signal strength would be Very Good, or Excellent, I would be connected to the wireless network, but I would be unable to surf the net.
- I have gotten the Limited Connectivity error even when the signal strength is excellent
- I have gotten the Local Only message

The list goes on.

I have reinstalled XP since I didnt want to deal with the problem anymore, but even when I had XP running again, the wireless was shot. And again, everything was fine up untill I installed the Vista upgrade.

I have since reistalled the Vista since I found this site.

Ive checked my drivers, Ive tested other computers and they all can connect

I spent so many days at Microsoft troubleshooting websites, Ive been here at this site trying these fixes, Ive tried HP tech support, nothing seems to work.

I am lost.

I am not a very good techie, I have average knowledge of what to do and how to do things, so directions, and tutorials might be needed to help explain. Example, I dont know how to reconfigure the NIC, or many of the other things that were suggested in the stickied fixes.


Any help is appreciated.
Zoidberg
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 12:20 pm

Postby chicagotech » Sat May 26, 2007 2:34 pm

As we know some wireless is not compatible with Vista. There are many options to fix it. Have you tried to assign static IP instead of using DHCP? Have you install the MS update in this link?

Vista: Wireless connectivity issue
Post Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 4:26 am Post subject: Vista: Wireless connectivity issue ... The wireless connection may drop when you use battery power. ...
http://www.chicagotech.net/netforums/vi ... .php?t=507
Last edited by chicagotech on Mon May 28, 2007 8:52 am, edited 3 times in total.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6934
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby Zoidberg » Sun May 27, 2007 8:40 pm

chicagotech wrote:As we know some wireless is not compatible with Vista. There are many options to fix it. Have you try to assign static IP instead of using DHCP? Have you install the MS update in this link?

Vista: Wireless connectivity issue
Post Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 4:26 am Post subject: Vista: Wireless connectivity issue ... The wireless connection may drop when you use battery power. ...
http://www.chicagotech.net/netforums/vi ... .php?t=507


What I did was disable the minimal power consumption of my WLAN adapter.

It worked for 4 hours, had the best connection I have had since installing Vista, but now its buggy gain.

I want to try the DHCP thing, about disabling that, but i have 4 GUIDs and I dont know which one to do it to.

Also, the link above doesnt work.

Thanks.
Zoidberg
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 12:20 pm

Postby chicagotech » Mon May 28, 2007 8:56 am

Sorry for the link. It should work now.

To configure TCP/IP, open the properties of the TCP/IPv4 (disable the TCP/IPv6 in most cases). Enter the IP address, subnet mask, Default gateway and DNS. You may find this information from the router. This that doesn't work, also try to disable QoS. Please post back with the result.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6934
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby Zoidberg » Mon May 28, 2007 2:01 pm

chicagotech wrote:Sorry for the link. It should work now.

To configure TCP/IP, open the properties of the TCP/IPv4 (disable the TCP/IPv6 in most cases). Enter the IP address, subnet mask, Default gateway and DNS. You may find this information from the router. This that doesn't work, also try to disable QoS. Please post back with the result.


After doing the IPv4 configurations and disabling v6 & QoS, I got constant limited connectivity.

When I returned everything to how they were before doing the above, I got the Local & Internet connection.

The problem however, even though it says I have Local & Internet access, is still that I cannot browse the internet. One minute a page loads fine, then everything just seems to crack out even though Im still connected.

If I'm connected, and have Local & Internet access, why is there such problems? I have simply tried everything I have come across, and everything techies have suggested. It is getting extremely frustrating.

Also, the link you gave me about installing the MS Update, It takes me to a word Document. Is that correct?
Zoidberg
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 12:20 pm

Postby chicagotech » Tue May 29, 2007 1:06 pm

Can you ping a public ip like 4.2.2.1? Or post the result of ipconfig /all. Vista update can be found here: http://www.chicagotech.net/netforums/viewforum.php?f=3
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6934
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby clarkstar » Wed Oct 10, 2007 11:45 am

I have the exact same problem with my new Vista Desktop. cannot connect to my network consistently and when I am connected, surfing is slower than a 14.4 modem. I use a morotola SBG900 wireless modem and have tried to update the drivers but not sure if that worked. usually I can connect to my network but it shows as unidentified and local only and then I will set it to private and eventually it will connect to the internet (meaning maybe 30 minutes later I will look up and see its showing the internet icon) but can barely open a webpage. Right now I am using the pc to watch movies only and I'm past the point of being p.o.'d. any help would be appreeciated. I thought of getting a new router and modem but would hate to spend the money if I don't need to. :?:
clarkstar
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 11:39 am

Postby chicagotech » Wed Oct 10, 2007 12:29 pm

We have seen many cases like this one. The first thing you should try is check if there is a new firmware for the router.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6934
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby clarkstar » Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:53 am

chicagotech wrote:We have seen many cases like this one. The first thing you should try is check if there is a new firmware for the router.


excuse my illiteracy, but by "firmware" do you mean new drivers? Ii have downloaded new drivers for the the modem but when I extract them they don't seem to install correctly, they just go to my temp files...
clarkstar
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 11:39 am

Postby chicagotech » Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:58 am

Some people may call firmware as driver. Each router/modem has different way to install the firmware/driver. You need to check the manufacturer how do document.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6934
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby norbert » Mon Nov 05, 2007 12:51 pm

I am using a Lenovo T61 with Vista Business (32 bit). I am experiencing a similar problem in that I can connect to the network but most web sites don't load. Similarly, downloading large files (like updated virus definitions or e-mails (pop3) with big attachments is a problem - download will start but transmission speed will quickly drop to 0 and eventually connection will fail because of time-out error.

The issue does not show up on all networks that I've connected to but it doesn't matter whether it is a secure or open network - I've seen the issue on either type.

I did upgrade firmware but it did not make a difference.

Am using an Intel 4965AGN network adapter
norbert
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 12:35 pm

Postby chicagotech » Mon Nov 05, 2007 1:16 pm

If upgraded the firmware doesn't fix the issue, you may try to re-configure the MUT. These search results may help.

troubleshooting ie issues
2) This problem is caused also by an incompatible MTU networking setting. You may try to install the latest SP. If you use MS ICS, you may want to configure ...
www.chicagotech.net/troubleshootingie.htm

Cannot load pages from specific web sites
A: We have seen many DSL lines have similar issue because of MTU. ... Q: when I set my routers MTU to Automatic, instead of the 1458 required by ...
www.chicagotech.net/Q&A/mtu1.htm
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6934
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby norbert » Mon Nov 12, 2007 3:27 pm

Thanks for the tip. I'm afraid this will take a bit more to solve. Here is what I got so far:

The problem of not being able to download large files is solved now thanks to the help of a network admin who was kind enough to share some of his experience. Here is what he recommended (in case there are others that follow this thread):

******Make sure you’re running as an Administrator (open a command window as Administrator) and execute the following command at the prompt: “netsh interface tcp set global autotuninglevel=disabled”
Changing “disabled” to “normal” will re-enable this setting, should you want to turn it back on again.
************

It also seems to have fixed the problem of slow internet for the wireless network I am using at work. However, my home wireless network is still as slow as it was before and in most cases gives me slow or no access to web sites.
I tried to change the MTU in the router. However, my router only lets me set it to either a discrete number or disable it completely. Neither works.
norbert
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 12:35 pm

Postby chicagotech » Mon Nov 12, 2007 4:20 pm

You may want to test the wireless at home using Internet Connectivity Evaluation Tool. These link may help.

Fixed: can't access some web sites ...have found something for it.. After upgrading my router to the last firmware, I ran the "Internet Connectivity Evaluation Tool" through this link: ...
www.chicagotech.net/netforums/viewtopic.php?t=1848

Internet Connectivity Evaluation Tool
http://www.chicagotech.net/netforums/vi ... php?t=2142
Last edited by chicagotech on Tue Nov 20, 2007 3:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6934
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby norbert » Tue Nov 20, 2007 2:46 pm

Thx again for the tip. I tested the internet connection using the link to the microsoft site.
2 items were not OK: UpnP and ECN
I turned UPnP on in the router but it did not make a difference.
As far as ECN is concerned I did not find a way to enable/ disable it

I am almost settling on the idea to buy a new router that in "Vista" approved. If I were to do that, would I then have the reverse issue that the Vista machine would work but the XP machines wouldn't?
norbert
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 12:35 pm

Next

Return to Wireless

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests